Grilled Chicken Thighs Tandoori Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2005
Excellent! Spicy, moist and juicy. I had to try this recipe out before I sprang it on guests so I broiled it in the oven - about 20 minutes each side. Yum! Today I will be doing the Father's Day grilling thing and expect it will be as good or better. Thank you. This will be part of my repertoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
The aroma of this dish cooking makes your mouth water! I used boneless/skinless thighs, as my other half can't stand bone-in anything. I also used fat free yogurt and sea salt rather than kosher. For melt-in-your-mouth chicken, make sure you marinate it overnight. I cooked it to perfection on a broiler pan for 40 minutes in a 350 degree oven - outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Terrace, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
This is wonderful!! This is the first time that I have tried tandoori and I will definitely make it again! I used boneless / skinless chicken thighs and cooked it on a grill. Served it with some basmati rice and will probably have the leftovers in a sandwich. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
We have made this chicken twice in the last week. Each time we have made 1/2 of the recipe. The first time it did not turn out very well (dry, not too tasty), but I blame us: learning to use indirect heat on the gas grill, only using a sprinkle of salt in the marinate, and using natural thighs. The second time the chicken was EXCELLENT, but this time I added 1/2 tsp. salt to the marinate, marinated them for 2 days in a covered glass dish, grilled them on indirect heat (410 degrees) for 35 minutes without lifting the lid, and they were done, juicy, tasty, and TO DIE FOR. Don’t know if it made a difference, but these thighs were 9- percent injected with broth. Will make this many more times while the weather is SO hot. Don’t give up if they are not great the first try!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
This chicken was really wonderful; the smell alone makes it worth cooking. I cooked mine in the oven on a cake rack set over a cookie sheet, 20 minutes each side at 350. I tried making it again by putting the chicken in a dish and baking but it didn't turn out as well. If you aren't going to grill it I highly recommend using the cake rack/cookie sheet method. UPDATE 6/29/07: I cooked the chicken on the grill for the first time the other night and it was so amazing I upgraded this to 5 stars. I will still make it in the oven in the winter, but this chicken is amazing when made on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Milford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Wayne, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2005
This is a great standard tandoori recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
really fast and easy to prepare. I didn't have yogurt so I substituted low fat sour cream and about 1 tbsp lemon juice. I loved it and would definatly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mika707
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
Really good grilled or baked! Marinade overnight (or longer) is a must. Also play around with the spices -- I'm not too crazy about cumin, I only used 1tsp, and totally omitted the cinnamon. And sprinkled more salt while grilling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2005
I honestly have never marinated anything in yogurt so this was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Groton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
I have been pleasantly surprised at how good this recipe has been. I use boneless, skinless thighs and bake for 25-30 min. at 350 degrees in the oven, uncovered. Perfectly moist and juicy. Don't bake any longer or thighs will get dry. (I'm baffled at all these posts that say they bake for 1 hour) The first time I made these to a T, and it was fantastic, but the long complicated barbecuing was a little tedious. And since then, I've just baked it in the oven - the last 5 minutes I put on broil to brown a little bit. And don't wipe the marinade off completely. It makes a nice thin sauce when it's cooked that's awesome over rice. Tip - you can also substitute vanilla yogurt for the plain by adding 2-3 tablespoons lemon juice. Tastes just as good. Try this recipe - very aromatic and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Tandoori Chicken

Watch Chef John make easy tandoori-style chicken on the grill.

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States