Grilled Chicken Thighs Tandoori Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
This chicken was really wonderful; the smell alone makes it worth cooking. I cooked mine in the oven on a cake rack set over a cookie sheet, 20 minutes each side at 350. I tried making it again by putting the chicken in a dish and baking but it didn't turn out as well. If you aren't going to grill it I highly recommend using the cake rack/cookie sheet method. UPDATE 6/29/07: I cooked the chicken on the grill for the first time the other night and it was so amazing I upgraded this to 5 stars. I will still make it in the oven in the winter, but this chicken is amazing when made on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Milford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Wayne, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
I have been pleasantly surprised at how good this recipe has been. I use boneless, skinless thighs and bake for 25-30 min. at 350 degrees in the oven, uncovered. Perfectly moist and juicy. Don't bake any longer or thighs will get dry. (I'm baffled at all these posts that say they bake for 1 hour) The first time I made these to a T, and it was fantastic, but the long complicated barbecuing was a little tedious. And since then, I've just baked it in the oven - the last 5 minutes I put on broil to brown a little bit. And don't wipe the marinade off completely. It makes a nice thin sauce when it's cooked that's awesome over rice. Tip - you can also substitute vanilla yogurt for the plain by adding 2-3 tablespoons lemon juice. Tastes just as good. Try this recipe - very aromatic and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
The aroma of this dish cooking makes your mouth water! I used boneless/skinless thighs, as my other half can't stand bone-in anything. I also used fat free yogurt and sea salt rather than kosher. For melt-in-your-mouth chicken, make sure you marinate it overnight. I cooked it to perfection on a broiler pan for 40 minutes in a 350 degree oven - outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Terrace, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
We have made this chicken twice in the last week. Each time we have made 1/2 of the recipe. The first time it did not turn out very well (dry, not too tasty), but I blame us: learning to use indirect heat on the gas grill, only using a sprinkle of salt in the marinate, and using natural thighs. The second time the chicken was EXCELLENT, but this time I added 1/2 tsp. salt to the marinate, marinated them for 2 days in a covered glass dish, grilled them on indirect heat (410 degrees) for 35 minutes without lifting the lid, and they were done, juicy, tasty, and TO DIE FOR. Don’t know if it made a difference, but these thighs were 9- percent injected with broth. Will make this many more times while the weather is SO hot. Don’t give up if they are not great the first try!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
Having been to India, and living in Malaysia which has a very large Indian population, I know good Tandoori. This is an excellent recipe, considering you are not using a Tandoor oven. We made it for the 4th of July with fragrant rice. MMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CINDYG99

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
I took another reviewer's suggestion and left the marinade on and baked the chicken in the oven at 400F for 25 minutes. It came out juicy and tasty, but was much wetter than the chicken tandoori I've ordered at restaurants. I will definately make this again. Use bone in/skin on thighs & add spices to marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
Wow, this was a great recipe - Incredibly flavorful and fragrant! I served the chicken with jasmine rice (sprinkled with fresh cilantro) and garlic naan purchased from Trader Joe's. This recipe's a keepah! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAJEUNIR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
If you LOVE Tandoori chicken, you'll only sort of like this recipe as the marinade does not have nearly enough spice to flavor the chicken. If I made this recipe again, I'd double the garlic, drop the cinnamon and cloves and use 2 T Garam Masala instead, and add 2T of lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2005
Excellent! Spicy, moist and juicy. I had to try this recipe out before I sprang it on guests so I broiled it in the oven - about 20 minutes each side. Yum! Today I will be doing the Father's Day grilling thing and expect it will be as good or better. Thank you. This will be part of my repertoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
This was really good. I did add some lemon juice to the marinade, and I like spicy food so I used hot paprika, but it still wasn't spicy enough. I might add an extra tbsp. next time, as I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Tandoori Chicken

Watch Chef John make easy tandoori-style chicken on the grill.

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States