Grilled Chicken Thighs Tandoori Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
I baked this because I did not have access to a grill. I marinated 3 drumsticks overnight and swiped off the excess marinade before placing them on a cookie tray in the oven. Baked at 210 deg C for 50 minutes, and they came out so juicy and wonderful. The skin was crispy and tasted fantastic. This is really good, but does not taste like a tandoori dish. Will make again because I love the flavor. Also pretty much an effortless meal. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiren K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
Chicken was very good and moist. I cooked it pretty much as instructed except I didn't wipe off the marinade before grilling and after taking chicken off the grill, I put into a hot oven for about five more minutes to crisp it up a bit. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KHONEY1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Used this marinade on chicken wings then slow cooked them in the oven, absolutely delicious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
We don't have access to a grill, so we put this is a glass pyrex and baked for about 20 minutes on each side, for a total of 40 minutes. We set the marinade for only about 5 hours, and it still came out pretty good. The next time we make this it will be broiled to get the skin more crispy, and we'll add something to give it a bit more kick. Overall pretty good, looking forward to our next rendition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
I made this just as the recipe stated, very tender, juicy and quite delicious. Be sure to spray the grill well before grilling as it wants to stick. Other than waiting a day to marinate the recipe is quite easy to make. Ut Oh I remember, I lied, I used turmeric and paprika for color and more flavor rather than food coloring. Thank you it tastes so authentic. I had a friend who was of this culture and she made it several years ago and this is right up there with what she had made. Great recipe - D-Double-delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Carrabelle, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
Oh ma ga. Slam dunk with this recipe. I did not have the recommended 8-hour marinade window, so I used the ingredients as more of a dry rub on the spot. Wow, in 20 minutes, these thighs came out delicious with a bit of firecracker off the tongue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
AFTER MAKING QUITE A FEW TIMES WE DECIDED WE DID NOT LIKE THIS RECIPE!!!!! I really liked this recipe. I cooked in oven covered for 30-45 minutes with all the sauce on it. Then I put on grill to just get the flavor. I didn't have coriander but it didn't seem to make any difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
made as written except no ground cloves, didn't have any. i agree with others that the cinnamon was a little strong, but it didn't bother me. i used boneless, skinless thighs and cooked on the stove top. i find that after i hand trim the thighs sometimes they are not easily grilled. thanks for the post diana!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I'm giving this 4 stars even though this turned out bad for me! I used greek yogurt which was very thick. Since other reviewers said they did not wipe the marinade off before cooking I thought it'd be fine but...WAY to much spice was stuck to that yogurt and thus made the grilled chicken way too strong in flavor. I felt like I was getting a mouthful of cloves and cinnamon. I think I would try this again someday but I would use regular yogurt which is easier to wipe off (and I would then wipe it off!). I also think I'd cut the salt in half. Too bad this didn't turn out :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Awesome receipe!!! I used buttermilk instead of yogurt. And I didn't have cloves so I added anlittle curry and cayenne pepper. My thighs were bone in so they were super juicy! DH said "save this for sure". UPDATE::: I made with chicken breasts. I let my chicken sit for 48 hours in the yogurt mixture. My chicken was juicy and full of flavor. I made simple spiced rice and DH cut up his chicken, threw some with the rice onto pita bread. He drizzled Greek Taziki I made from AR on his "Indian burrito". Such a wonderful recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LED87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Tandoori Chicken

Watch Chef John make easy tandoori-style chicken on the grill.

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States