Grilled Chicken Breasts with Zesty Peanut Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2005
I may even use this sauce on other dishes, YUM. Microwaving the peanut butter 20 sec or so makes it mix much better/easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Hopkinsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
This recipe quite surprised me. I wasn't sure that the ingredients would go well together, but it sounded like it might be good so I was eager to make it. I used chicken breasts and boneless, skinless thighs, marinated for several hours and grilled. Meanwhile, the sauce really had me worried, it thickens alot in 15 mins. But creams nicely with the addition of the cream and stock. Tastes yummy, maybe a bit too much peanut butter?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brad J Hall

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
The marinade is terrible. You don't need the brown sugar, or the vegetable oil and the soy sauce should be cut in half. In fact, ignore the marinade and use the sauce as the marinade, leaving out the brown sugar and heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2005
I made only the peanut sauce from this recipe because I already had leftover grilled chicken breasts. I made several changes to the recipe to use what I had on hand: half fresh lime juice and half bottled, 1 t. ground ginger instead of ginger root, dash of cayenne (my kids don't do spicy), and 1/2 cup whipped cream cheese with garlic in place of heavy cream and minced garlic. I also used the entire can of coconut milk since I wouldn't have a use for the extra and since some reviewers complained that the sauce was too thick. The sauce was definitely not too thick this way, but it did have some odd lumps from the cream cheese. Although we really enjoyed the recipe, I would recommend using the ingredients as directed to give the sauce a fuller flavor. I had a ton of sauce left over, so I'm hoping it freezes. I can't wait to try the recipe again, this time using the marinade!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2005
the marinade was great, i'm glad i tried the chicken before i put the sauce on... which brings me to the sauce-- it was HORRIBLE. very overpowering, heavy... it ruined the whole dish. i'll use the marinade again, but definitely not the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QuakerBaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monticello, Indiana, USA
Living In: Carthage, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2005
I used this recipe for a marinade, and cooked up the chicken with a modified version of the sauce for Amazingly Simple Thai Tofu (also on this site). The dish got rave reviews from all of my guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2005
I cooked this tonight on the "ribbed" side of my 2 burner cast iron griddle. It cooked beautifully and was deemed a keeper by my family. Next time I'll add more coconut milk. Love the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Gabriel, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2005
If I could give this more than 5 stars I would! This might be the best recipe I've gotten from this site. The marinade is terrific, and would be fine on its own. I thought the peanut sauce was great, and had no problems with consistency. It gets a little skim on top if you don't stir for a while, but it goes away once you stir it. It does make a lot of peanut sauce, though. I used skim milk because I didn't have cream, and didn't add cilantro because I don't like it. Serve over fettucini noodles and be happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2005
This makes the BEST marinated chicken I have ever had. I will be using the marinade recipe a lot more in the future. However, I will NOT be making the sauce. It was terrible. I also had problems with the peanut butter seperating about halfway through the cooking time. So I lowered the temp. and whisked in the cream and broth, and it set back up again. But it tasted awful. If I were to advise anyone making it, I would definetly tell them to cut back on the lime juice, it was way too overpowering. But the marinade ROCKS!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2005
Wow! This is everything I hoped it would be. The sauce has perfectly balanced flavors, and the quantity allows generous servings. I flattened my chicken between two layers of plastic wrap, which really makes cleanup easy. Also marinated it overnight, and that allowed the marinade flavor to get all the way through the meat. I had difficulty getting the pieces into the bag so they would get marinated all over evenly, although there was plenty of marinade. Also, the cooking process was lengthy for the meat because I had only a 12" grill pan. Don't be afraid to be generous with the garlic in the marinade. When making the sauce I put the heat up higher to start, to get the peanut butter into cooperative shape sooner. I also substituted unsweetened soy milk for the heavy cream, which worked very well. This recipe is one of the best I've ever made, & I will definitely do it many times in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cranford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

JIF(R) Irresistible Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make classic peanut butter cookies.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States