Grilled Chicken Breast with Cucumber and Pepper Relish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
I liked it alot. I did seasons the chicken breasts and relish with fresh ground pepper (you gotta have it...lol...) and garlic salt in addition to the other spices. I did serve the relish right on top of the breast. I served it with Rice Pilaf and it made a great meal. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Littlepammie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
Even with a few tweaks, this was still pretty mediocre. I marinated the chicken for about 16 hours (added a little garlic powder to the mix), used fresh cilantro instead of parsley, and also squeezed half a lime into the relish. I probably should have pounded the chicken thinner so that it absorbed more flavor (also could have added some Chipotle powder), and some fresh jalapeno would have been a nice addition to the relish. Oh well. Thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
This is a great base recipe. The spice of the chicken meshes well with the cool relish. However, I did wind up making some changes to add more of a kick to the dish. To the relish I added - 1 finely chopped jalapeno and juice from 1 lime. I also substituted the parsley for fresh cilantro. It gave the dish a slightly southwestern flavor, but it really went well with the chili and cumin flavors in the chicken. I also recommend making the salsa ahead and letting it chill for a few hours so the flavors have enough time to blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Old Tappan, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
After reading reviews I added italian dressing both to the meat marinade and the relish. I used pork chops rather than chicken and broiled them in the oven. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by misymiss
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
This recipe is a bit bland I double the cumin and chili but it didn't work for me. I added a bit of garlic salt to give it a little more flavor. For the relish I added a bit of cider vinegar and it was fairly okay. I am not sure if I will this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misymiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Montebello, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
My instincts told me this dish was going to be bland. I should have listened to myself -- or better yet, looked at the second page of reviews...Very bland. I had to add lime to the relish and salt. It looked pretty, tho, but definitely not a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
I made this last night and it was a hit!! I sliced up the chicken breast after grilling them and used them in wraps with the salsa. Served Mexican Rice on the side with red beans and corn. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
Three out of four of us LOVED this recipe. My finicky 11 yr old wasn't to thrilled with the salsa. I'll make it again though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
I was just not impressed with this recipe. I thought the relish was bland and the chicken simply a little flavored with the cumin rub. Marinade works better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
I loved this recipe. Only changed one thing, we love our chicken marinated in Italian dressing, so I added a couple of tablespoons of that to the marinade. Gave it great flavor. I recommend trying this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Logan, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Cornell Grilled Chicken

See how to make Dr. Baker’s famous Cornell chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States