Grilled Chicken Adobo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
I've made Adobo many times - for those who found that it was too salty, this has to do with the brand of soy sauce you use. If you buy Kikoman for example use 1/2 cup less than the recipe calls for or add more water. If you buy a Filipino brand like Silver Swan then follow the recipe as is and it won't be salty at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
This is a flavorful dish with a garlicy-tangy sauce. I substituted brown sugar for the honey and it came out fine. Some suggestions: Trim the fat from the chicken, otherwise the sauce gets a little oily. When returning the mixture to a boil, do not cover the saucepan - allow the sauce to evaporate until it is reduced to about half its original volume. The sauce will have a glaze-like consistency. I don't have a grill, so I quick-pan-fried the chicken in a little oil and minced garlic - just enough to make the outside crisp. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2002
This recipe was great! By accident, I overcooked the chicken so it was little on the dry side but still very good. Next time, I'll just have to keep a better eye on the cooking time and all will be fine! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2003
OK here's the deal: This recipe is WAY too salty. Why hasn't anyone else noticed this before? I thought I was going to have to throw away the dish but I just kept the chicken and not the sauce. The amount of soy sauce is way too much for the recipe, try cutting down on it if you make this chicken. Another recipe I used before from all recipes is "Baked Teriyaki Chicken" submitted by Marian Collins, it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sangre Grande, Sangre Grande, Trinidad And Tobago
Living In: Hempstead, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2002
Decreased soy sauce to 1 cup, increased water to 2 cups, and used rice vinegar. Very unique but even the picky 11-yr old son ejoys this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orofino, Idaho, USA
Living In: Port Ludlow, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
I used brown sugar for the honey, omitted the grilling, and used an additional bay leaf and it was pretty close to the Adobo I grew up with, just a littly oily. I added some chicken breast as well, but found that it was too strongly flavored so next time I'll either use all darkmeat or cut the vinegar a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
This is scrumptious. I was raised with Filipino families and this is exactly how this dish is made. It has the perfect amount of soy sauce. You can also cook this all in one pan in the oven. Place all the ingredients in a baking pan being sure not to crowd the chicken. Bake at 375degrees for 50 minutes until most liquid is evaporated and the meat is falling off the bone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2003
Yummy and sooo easy. My husband likes this one better than the one his brother spends hours on. Kids like it too. It's a keeper! We also ate it right out of the pot, no need to grill. I might try it next time just to see...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2003
Unlike other reviewers, we didn't find this dish too oily or salty. I trimmed the fat off the chicken (which might cut down on the oily) and didn't grill it after cooking. Both myself and my very picky husband absolutely loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HERA1974

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Wonderful flavor! Halved the soy sauce, doubled the water. Returned the grilled, cooked chicken to the reduced sauce for a few minutes to infuse the flavor again. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Grilled Lemon & Yogurt Chicken

Watch Chef John make a healthy, low-fat chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States