Grilled Chicken Adobo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2002
Simple and delicious! You don't even have to grill it...it's good right out of the pot :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2002
Very good. Has become part of our menu rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2002
Fantastic recipe, very nice flavor and everyone in the house loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2002
My husband does not like teriyaki. It is usually too sweet for him. He loved this dish. I mixed the sauce up, cut the water in half, added a pinch more garlic and brown sugar and cayenne to the mix. Soaked the chicken in this mix. Baked the chicken, then broiled it to finish. It's Wonderful. I served it with plain rice, extra boiled down sauce, and a deli coleslaw mixed with pineapple and sunflower seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2002
This recipe was great! By accident, I overcooked the chicken so it was little on the dry side but still very good. Next time, I'll just have to keep a better eye on the cooking time and all will be fine! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2002
Decreased soy sauce to 1 cup, increased water to 2 cups, and used rice vinegar. Very unique but even the picky 11-yr old son ejoys this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orofino, Idaho, USA
Living In: Port Ludlow, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
This is a flavorful dish with a garlicy-tangy sauce. I substituted brown sugar for the honey and it came out fine. Some suggestions: Trim the fat from the chicken, otherwise the sauce gets a little oily. When returning the mixture to a boil, do not cover the saucepan - allow the sauce to evaporate until it is reduced to about half its original volume. The sauce will have a glaze-like consistency. I don't have a grill, so I quick-pan-fried the chicken in a little oil and minced garlic - just enough to make the outside crisp. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
I used brown sugar for the honey, omitted the grilling, and used an additional bay leaf and it was pretty close to the Adobo I grew up with, just a littly oily. I added some chicken breast as well, but found that it was too strongly flavored so next time I'll either use all darkmeat or cut the vinegar a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2003
OK here's the deal: This recipe is WAY too salty. Why hasn't anyone else noticed this before? I thought I was going to have to throw away the dish but I just kept the chicken and not the sauce. The amount of soy sauce is way too much for the recipe, try cutting down on it if you make this chicken. Another recipe I used before from all recipes is "Baked Teriyaki Chicken" submitted by Marian Collins, it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sangre Grande, Sangre Grande, Trinidad And Tobago
Living In: Hempstead, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2003
Too much soy sauce and too oily. But hubby liked it. Go figure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Grilled Lemon & Yogurt Chicken

Watch Chef John make a healthy, low-fat chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States