Grilled Chicken Adobo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
Wow, I served with brown rice and lots of the juice/glaze drowning everything. Tastes just like dad's!! I am used to adobo made in a big stock pot and simmered for hours, so this was a nice change but still had authentic flavor. It didn't turn glaze-like (more of just an adobo juice), but thats probably due to the fact I used less honey. I made the marinade and put the chicken in a bag with it and froze it until ready to use. Yesterday i put it in the fridge to defrost and further marinate the flavor. FABULOUS!! And for those who say it is too salty, it is not at all. I used reduced sodium soy sauce after reading the reviews, but ended up putting La Choy full sodium soy on afterward because it was lacking something. Salt. It's just how the flavors are supposed to be. That taught me not to mess with perfection ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
Wow! what a great recipe. Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Topanga, California, USA
Living In: Deltona, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
I was surprised at how much I liked this recipe, since I don't usually use soy sauce at all! It was pretty salty, though, so I think I would use less soy sauce next time. But overall, a GREAT recipe that I will definitely use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by astrid

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
Delicious - I used low sodium soy sauce and also grilled with pineapple. Served with brown rice and green beans - the family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Festus, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
Delicious! Be careful with the reduction because it can end up with a very strong flavor, but putting a little on top of the chicken really makes the dish pop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
This was a big hit at my house! We didn't have enough Soy Sauce so we used Worcestershire sauce with it and it was awesome! We also served this with Spruced Up Mashed Potatoes and it was so yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darla Cunningham Wilkinson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brighton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Kalona, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
Excellent flavor and a real hit served with rice and pineapple! One thing is to make certain you don't use TOO big a pot. I halved the recipe and used my stock pot to fit 6 thighs plus the fluids. Well I should have stuck with a regular pot, because at about 25 minutes of cooking time on the stove, the pan boiled dry. Ths left the chicken a little dry especially on the outside, and without any sauce. BUT the flavor was so intensely good, and the inside meat was so tender, that I am sure a different sized pot that actually kept fluid at a better level would solve this problem. Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
Very salty. Cooked this exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONTANAMOM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef Helen
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
This is absolutely the best chicken recipe I've found! The chicken was cooked on low heat and came out soo juicy and tender. The marinade was wonderful. However, I did make some minor changes. I ran out of soy sauce so I used 1/2 cup of fish sauce and 1/4 soy sauce to make 4 servings. It came out wonderful!! Also, I used boneless chicken breast and cut the fat off so that the sauce wasn't so oily. I will definately be cooking this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Helen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
Being filipino I've always cooked adobo in just one pot, but this grilling idea gave it a better kick. Those who are worried about too much soy sauce or salt thats what adobo is all about. Kikoman does have a reduced salt sauce haven't tried it though my mom would throw a fit! I added minced ginger and please don't forget the peppercorns! Thanks for sharing this idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LITTLERUDEGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Marinated Grilled Chicken II

Simple recipe that helps combat dry chicken blues.

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States