Grilled Cheese with Tomato, Peppers and Basil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2002
This is good. A nice change from the classic. It's best with garden fresh tomatoes, basil & peppers! Nice bite to it, thanks Mindy & Eric!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
serrano peppers are what 4-5 times hotter than the jalapeno? This is just a little too hot for most of my guests and family. When I made this I had a few different types of peppers on hand. Some habaneros, Anaheim chile,banana peppers as well as just some simple yellow sweet bells. That way people could pick their spice level. Personaly I like the habernero on this but habaneros are way too hot for most.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Green, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
I love all the ingredients in this little version of grilled cheese so I knew it would be a winner. I used banana peppers from the jar and they gave the sandwich just the right amount a kick. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
These were a tasty spin on the original. My husband has requested them a few times since. Prep is impotrant for getting these just right. Slice everything quite thin so that the cheese can melt to keep them together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
used monterrey jack cheese and cheddar, forgot the peppers but sprinkled pepper in the middle. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frugalux

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
Not bad. I didn't have any serrano peppers so I went with bell. Also couldn't find the basil so I used an Italian spice. Loved the spice but I could do without the peppers. My brother loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
Yum! I used a single roma tomato, thinly sliced, and I sliced the serrano pepper lengthwise and just put the halves on the sandwich. A nice change from the everyday grilled cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
Great and easy way to spice up an old standby. Thanks for the recipe! Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
I thought this was pretty good. Try using any kind of pickled pepper on it. What a combination, WOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anjilee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Americus, Kansas, USA
Living In: Iuka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
I made this for my friend who had to go Veggie for a month and he LOVED it! It's a great update on an old favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States