Grilled Cheese with Tomato, Peppers and Basil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
"The best toasted cheese sandwich I have ever eaten!" A direct quote from my husband - - I think he liked this recipe! I used marinated roasted red peppers instead of the serrano peppers. I also had HUGE basil leaves from my garden so I just laid them whole on the tomatoes. Thank you so much for the delicious recipe, Mindy. It's a knockout!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Malvern, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TexasJen
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
It was pretty good. Seed the serranos if you don't want all the spice. I left mine in because I really enjoy spicy food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TexasJen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
Not bad. I didn't have any serrano peppers so I went with bell. Also couldn't find the basil so I used an Italian spice. Loved the spice but I could do without the peppers. My brother loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
Yum! I used a single roma tomato, thinly sliced, and I sliced the serrano pepper lengthwise and just put the halves on the sandwich. A nice change from the everyday grilled cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
this was really good! i added grilled onion and a slice of provolone along with the cheddar. i'm not a big fan of tomatoes so i left them off of mine, but i could tell it was lacking something. when i tasted my boyfriends with the tomatoes it was great! definitely a keeper, i might try adding some turkey slices next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Vinings, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
used monterrey jack cheese and cheddar, forgot the peppers but sprinkled pepper in the middle. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frugalux

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
This was so good. It never occured to me to put something in my grilled cheese sandwich other than cheese! Instead of basil, I used a bit of pesto sauce. Yummy! I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cranwell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
I love grilled cheese and this is a great change of pace. I use gluten-free bread and cheese and eliminate the peppers and it still tastes VERY GOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
These were a tasty spin on the original. My husband has requested them a few times since. Prep is impotrant for getting these just right. Slice everything quite thin so that the cheese can melt to keep them together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
Kinda like a grown up grilled cheese. Really liked it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States