Grilled Cheese with Tomato, Peppers and Basil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
This was pretty good. Different from the classic because of the crunch. I forgot to add the basil, so that could be why it was a little more bland than I thought it would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LWife26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Lyon, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
I ended up throwing the peppers and tomato into a food processor and draining out the liquids. It made a sandwich that stayed together better and the entire tomato didn't slide out if you didn't bite all the way through it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Hood, Texas, USA
Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
AWESOME!!! I love this recipe! Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
I loved this!!! (My 2 and 3 year old, not so much, but that was to be expected) Used jalapeno instead of serrano as I was told they're similar. Next time I will slice the cheese thinner and put it on both sides of the tomato because I didn't really like the tomato next to the bread - made it soggy, but that is just nit-picking. This was delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple Valley, California, USA
Living In: Pinon Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
I am NEVER, EVER eating a traditional grilled cheese again! These are wonderful. I love the flavor of the peppers and the basil... Mmmmm. Just a note to those who are afraid of the peppers... Don't even worry. I seeded the peppers thoroughly and chopped them, distributing them evenly on the bread, before placing the cheese on top of the bread so it melted in. There was no heat whatsoever. Just flavor. My daughter is so grateful for this find. She likes grilled cheese but was so tired of the same ol same ol. My husband asks for these all the time, as well. My son, who LOVES grilled cheese just the way they were also enjoys these. My two year old, on the other hand, prefers them the way he's used to them so I make his with just cheese! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shell-Shell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
This was soooo simple and soooo good. Can't wait to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
Wow, this is a great alternative from the classic. Can't wait to make it again. Simple and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
I enjoyed the flavor of this sandwich. I used sweet bell peppers, but adding jalepeno would really add that extra kick the sandwich needs. Don't be afraid to use a bit more basil...it adds a lot of flavor too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by knockoutchef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
At least I can understand why THIS grilled cheese recipe is listed online (can't understand about the classic version though)! I have made GC lots of times with fresh tomato and basil, but the hot pepper is a nice new idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveNCyprus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Malaga, Andalucia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
Hubby and I made this together tonight with Tomato and Basil Soup on this site. Hubby liked the basil on the sandwich, saying it gave the sandwich a nice flavor. Although I like tomato in my grilled cheese, hubby tried it, but decided it was just okay...although he said it may be better wtih homegrown tomatos... the ones we had did not have much flavor...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States