Grilled Cheese, Pickle and Vidalia Onion Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
This recipe sounds delicious. On my pickle sandwiches, all i do is spread a little miracle whip onto my bread, put on a couple of pickles and toast the sandwich. It's so delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Delicious! Didn't think the pickles would be as tasty as they were. cheese and pickles. it is better than it sounds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth and Luke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
I used regular yellow onion, sauteed a little bit first, and very thin slices of cheddar and mozzarella. I also just used cooking spray instead of butter and this sandwich was excellent. What a good idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
...and here I thought I invented this. I have been making these since grade school! The best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
I HAD THIS TONIGHT AND THOUGHT IT WAS SOOOO GOOD. I MADE IT WITH TEXAS TOAST AND SWISS CHEESE, DILL PICKLE, HAM. IT'S THE ONLY WAY I WILL BE MAKING MY GRILLED CHEESE SANDWICHES FOR NOW ON. THANKS FOR THIS RECIPE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
I tried this because of the vidalia onions. I always have pickles on my grilled cheese, but the onions were a nice addition. It made for a nice quick lunch, just what I was looking for. Thanks Lainey for sharing your version of a grilled cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Wow, this was great! Admittedly, I made a few changes to combine it with my other favorite grilled cheese sandwich. I used American cheese instead of Cheddar because I had it in the house...I also spread a little whipped cream cheese on one side and sprinkled the insides with italian seasoning. So good...I would never have thought of this combo, but it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
My Vegetarian wife and son love this vaiation of the (plain, old) grilled cheese sandwich! Thanks for the recipe, Lainey!!! I had a jar of carmelized onions from our last canning season that I used for these. Made for a delicious "swwt and sour" effect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saucier Du Fer

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Thanks for the *push* I needed to step out of my childhood grilled cheese w/White American and yellow mustard standby. I didn't have any cheddar, so I did use provolone and white American and I also added ham for some protein, but it would have been fantastic w/out the ham (and w/whatever cheese you prefer) as well! I liked this so much, I may just have one for lunch today, too...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
This was sooooo good! I had white cheddar and american, so I just combined both. Also, I used white bread. This was really tasty and we all enjoyed the combination of flavors. I will be making these again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Just add cheese and toast till it's golden brown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States