Grilled Cheese and Peanut Butter Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
OK, here's the deal. This is the best sandwich ever, but it has to be done right. There are 2 essential and 2 secondary things people are missing. Essential 1: real peanut butter - this means no sugar added (not sweetened factory goo) - it's just ground up peanuts (with maybe some salt and palm oil). Sweetened peanut butter spoils the bite of the cheese (see below). Essential 2: hot sauce - the sandwich is to be dipped in hot sauce. Not crazy habanero but-in-the-tub stuff, liquid-y hot sauce like Cholula or Tapatio. It provides essential softness and flavor. Secondary 1: sharp cheddar cheese only - preferably extra sharp, good cheddar (like Tillamook). The cheese has to compete with your good, real peanut butter. Secondary 2: whole wheat bread - with the powerful elements of real peanut butter, extra sharp cheddar, and hot sauce, white bread just can't hold its own. Enjoy! Convert your friends - they will be appreciative, eventually. Oh, and it goes great with a fresh-from-the-fridge Pabst tallboy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
This actually is a great tasting sandwich. My kids and I love it BUT we don't ever use cheddar cheese. We always use american. I think for some of those who didn't like it, that might have made a difference. The cheddar is too harsh for this to me. Sliced american blends much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2004
Prof positive that college students have way too much time on their hands. I read this recipe and thought it sounded really bad, but I gave it a shot anyway. And it really wasn't that bad. Kind of like a really good Dr. Seuss book. I probably won't make it again but if you are feeling adventurous give it a shot. I threw the sandwhich together, flipped it on my GeorgeForman grill for 5 minutes, rotated 45 degrees, 3 more minutes (gives it a nice diamond grill pattern) and done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
I'm not a fan of beef so this combo has been my stand-in for over 60 years. Also llike to add tomatoes, or deviled ham, or bacon. Both cheese AND peanut butter blend with everything, so why not experiment? Try it, you'll like it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
I love these, I also eat peanut butter on my bologna sandwiches though (with mayo, cheese and peanut butter), people think I'm strange yes, I used American cheese (sandwich cheese) and it turned out great, I'm a peanut butter lover though, on waffles, pancakes..whatever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Munchkin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Zimmerman, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
What an amazing disappearing act that my toddler played on this sandwich. I set it in front of her, she inspected it like a detective looking for clues, peeled the bread apart, sniffed, then took a tiny nibble. In the blink-of-an-eye I turned back, and the entire sandwich was gone! "It's in my tummy, Mommy!" she said, w/ a gooey-peanut-butter grin. OK, now onto what I think helped make it 5-stars (since Mommy made herself one too) - I used Whole Foods freshly-ground honey-roasted Peanut Butter, Jarslburg cheese, and honey-wheat bread. Bizarre combination = blissful comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
Read the reviews and thought i'd take a chance. My kids love grilled cheese but didn't care for this at all. I appreciate going outside the box, though. Maybe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
It's easier to spread the butter one side of the first piece and slap it into the pan. Then spread the peanut butter on the slice of cheese and slap that on the bread in the pan. Then breat the second slice of bread and drop it, butter side up, on top of the peanut butter covered cheese. Bamo, done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
I actually discoverd this idea by accident... I was hungry and low on groceries, but had some shredded cheddar, PB, and wheat bread. I didn't toast it, but it was surprisingly delicious! After making a second one, I just had to see if I was strange or if others in the world had discovered this delicious treat! Sure enough... here it is! Great, easy, cheap, filling, delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
This was fine for a change, but it's not something I would eat on a regular basis. I think the texture of the hot peanut butter takes away from the melty cheese texture, making the whole thing just too runny. The flavours were fine, though, and I enjoyed trying something different. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Peanut Butter and Banana Sandwich

Make a grilled sandwich with gooey melted peanut butter and sweet sliced bananas.

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Just add cheese and toast till it's golden brown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States