Grilled Cheese and Bacon Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Carrie C.
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
This was so good! I used shredded cheddar instead of the cheese slice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mc Keesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Leroy Township, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
I was far from impressed with this recipe. The instructions are a problem. The ingredients refer to potatoes cut in wedges, yet the directions seem to refer to the whole potato. I'll stay with the way I've been doing them. Slicing my potatoes onto some foil (which I spray with Pam), add onion slices, shredded cheddar, sprinkle a little Olive Oil, s & p, seal and place on the grill. No bacon. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
I followed other's suggestions and sliced whole potates part way down, drizzled with olive oil, sprinkled garlic salt and seasoned salt, covered with shredded cheddar cheese and wrapped with the bacon. I cooked them in my oven and it took about 1 1/2 hours. They were very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
I thought this was very good. I made it as per the recipe except I added shredded cheddar cheese AFTER the potato was served on my plate. I folded the foil around the potatos, leaving space on all sides and flipped halfway through grilling time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
I followed other reviewers & my suggestions -thanks! Doubled heavy duty foil cut large enough to enfold each large potato & gave each foil square a hit of butter-flavored cooking spray. Sliced large potatos not quite through, drizzed a bit of EV olive oil, with finger over opening-a splash of white wine, sprinkled into each slit & exterior of potato w/garlic powder, seasoned salt, milled pepper, basil, stuffed each slit w/thin sliced red onion, sprinkled all w/real shredded cheddar cheese, wrapped regular uncooked bacon around exterior. With doubled foil, I made an upside-down tent around potato, brought both ends together and folded down from the top, leaving a little air space for expansion, then folded in each end [to avoid leakage]. Flipped each halfway through the grilling time. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Stuart Dobson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Stafford Springs, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
By no means was this an attractive dish, but it sure was good! I think it definitely needs to have some sort of liquid in there. Next time I would probably make this in a foil pan and add either olive oil or chicken broth. I did add quite a bit of garlic powder, salt, pepper, and parsely. I also added a pound of fresh mushrooms. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
This was really good! Foil "packets" need to be turned at least once to make sure that everything is getting cooked and all the cheese melts. Definitely recommend this with a steak!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2004
Great side dish! Been looking for something different on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2004
I found the potatoes to be rather bland. I will stay with my tried and true. Cut 1/4" slices across, but not through the bottom skin, stuff with purple onion cut into half rings and pats of butter in each slit, sprinkle with garlic salt and black pepper, and when they are done, open the foil sprinkle with sharp cheddar cheese and top with crisp cooked bacon pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2003
I have not made it exactly how the recipe goes. I make slash marks on my potatoes (leave them whole) and wrap a slice or two of bacon around the potato. For something different I use maple bacon. Wrap in foil and put it on the grill. I am going to try it quartered with the cheese, bacon, and I'll add some onions. MMMMMM Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Panama City Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States