Grilled Cabbage II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
I didn't follow the recipe exactly. I didn't use peppers or onions and I only used half a cabbage. I cut the cabbage in wedges and then peeled the layers apart and put it in a zip lock bag. Then I melted the 1/4 cup of butter and put two cloves of minced garlic in the butter and poured it over the cabbage and shook the bag to coat it. Then I wrapped the cabbage in the foil and grilled 40 minutes. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
I liked it, but the family said it was just ok. I found wedges didn't work that well, since it's hard to coat spices all over and the center was still crunchy. I'd chop it up like a salad & wrap it up that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
This was delish!! Such a change from boiled and fried cabbage. It takes on the characterstics of fried cabbage though, just somewhat healthier. I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of adding grated parmasean cheese, it added a wonderful flavor to it. I also did not turn my cabbage for fear that the butter would run out and ruin my new grill lol...but i think it turned out great because it left a very charred outer layer that was very good. Thanks for posting. I could almost ate a half a head of cabbage tonight!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Chop in large pieces rather than wedges. Cook for 45-50 minutes. Use olive oil, not butter. Add extra spices. Add brats to grill for final 10 minutes. Serve with roasted potatoes and dark beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
UPDATE: I just made this again last night and I am still amazed at how good it turns out and how easy it is. I left out the bell pepper this time but it was just as good. Thank you again for the recipe it is awesome! I am giving this recipe 5 stars for flavor, innovation and ease! We love fried and boiled cabbage but never thought of putting it on the grill. I added 1/4 cup butter and also some olive oil,celeryt seed and plenty of fresh ground pepper. I made 2, one with the green pepper and one without. I also added some cooked crumbled bacon. Both were really good. Thanks for sharing! it was a hit and good the second day too (for what little was left).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
This was delicious. I have a skillet made for the grill that is has a bunch of holes throughout (google bbq skillet). It's great for grilling small veggies that would otherwise fall through. The holes allow for a nice char and grill taste. I sliced the cabbage, used red bell pepper and added more garlic, sliced. Great the next day in my lunch too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gonefishn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
this was great! I added vidalia onions, olive oil and dale's steak sauce and put some bell peppers on top. was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mleiland

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexander City, Alabama, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
I had some leftover cabbage and thought I would give this a try. I was very reluctant though. To our surprise we loved it. I bought a new head of cabbage just to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eli3leg

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peachtree City, Georgia, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
I liked this...especially the convenience of cooking it on the grill while you're already grilling. But will try it with a few more spices next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2005
With more garlic, this recipe is 5 stars *****. I only used a quarter of a head of cabbage, but used three cloves of garlic. PERFECT. Nutritious & delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leahnwells

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Romaine

The grill. It’s how Caesar would’ve rocked the Caesar Salad.

How to Make Grilled Fruit Skewers

Skewered strawberries, mangoes, papayas, and pineapples all excel on the grill.

Grilled Asian Asparagus

A super-simple Asian-inspired marinade makes grilled asparagus special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States