Grilled Cabbage II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
UPDATE: I just made this again last night and I am still amazed at how good it turns out and how easy it is. I left out the bell pepper this time but it was just as good. Thank you again for the recipe it is awesome! I am giving this recipe 5 stars for flavor, innovation and ease! We love fried and boiled cabbage but never thought of putting it on the grill. I added 1/4 cup butter and also some olive oil,celeryt seed and plenty of fresh ground pepper. I made 2, one with the green pepper and one without. I also added some cooked crumbled bacon. Both were really good. Thanks for sharing! it was a hit and good the second day too (for what little was left).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
Good recipe but it takes a lot longer to cook than the recipe says. I also used a whole stick of butter, not 1/4 of a cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKiesler

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Albany, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
I didn't follow the recipe exactly. I didn't use peppers or onions and I only used half a cabbage. I cut the cabbage in wedges and then peeled the layers apart and put it in a zip lock bag. Then I melted the 1/4 cup of butter and put two cloves of minced garlic in the butter and poured it over the cabbage and shook the bag to coat it. Then I wrapped the cabbage in the foil and grilled 40 minutes. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
I had expected something out-of-this-world because of all the high ratings this recipe got, but I'd say I just got some good cabbage. The cabbage tasted like cabbage, which I liked, but it wasn't anything mindblowing. I might make again because it's healthy, but I don't see myself craving this or dreaming about it or anything like that. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZZY9VOLT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
This was delish!! Such a change from boiled and fried cabbage. It takes on the characterstics of fried cabbage though, just somewhat healthier. I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of adding grated parmasean cheese, it added a wonderful flavor to it. I also did not turn my cabbage for fear that the butter would run out and ruin my new grill lol...but i think it turned out great because it left a very charred outer layer that was very good. Thanks for posting. I could almost ate a half a head of cabbage tonight!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
This is funny I had basically the same grilled cabbage I concocked last summer! I used papricka, pepper salt and a Mrs. Dash for spices than i used green red yellow and orange pepper with butter in the cabbage wedges. You can use little or as much different additives as you want a very flexible recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms.CooksALot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
Loved the flavours & easy to make. Instead of foil, I use 2 aluminum (disposable) containers and hold together with foldback clips. I find them easier to flip &/or check when they are done. I like my green peppers cooked less (they were abit mushy) so next time I will add them part way through cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
I liked this...especially the convenience of cooking it on the grill while you're already grilling. But will try it with a few more spices next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
I liked it, but the family said it was just ok. I found wedges didn't work that well, since it's hard to coat spices all over and the center was still crunchy. I'd chop it up like a salad & wrap it up that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
I should have read the reviews first...it was a bit bland. Next time I try this, I will add more garlic and spice. Definitely better than boiled cabbage though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosemary

Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Baked Potatoes

A delicious combination of baked and grilled potatoes in one dish.

Grilled Bacon-Wrapped Corn on the Cob

Corn and bacon are grilled together in this perfect summer dish.

Grilled Romaine

The grill. It’s how Caesar would’ve rocked the Caesar Salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States