Grilled Buffalo Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
Good wings! For those who are worried about putting cooked chicken back in the sauce that raw chicken was in, as long as the sauce is kept simmering, it is no different from cooking raw chicken in a sauce for 1 hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
These are excellent wings. We soaked the wings in the mixture for about 30 minutes and then grilled the wings on our Big Green Egg to brown them. The sauce is thin so while wings were cooking I thickened the sauce with corn starch. I cooked the sauce and wings for 20 more minutes in a cast iron bean pot on the Egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
OUTSTANDING! these wings were everything we expected. sided with some warm garlic bread, fresh garden tomatoes with basalmic vinegar and garden basil, made an easy Friday night movie experience. YUM,YUM...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
A Word of WARNING: Be sure to bring the sauce to a simmer, otherwise it breaks a paramount food-safe rule when working with raw chicken. NEVER return your cooked chicken to the same sauce that has or has had raw chicken in it! Having it simmering on the side of the grill will reduce the risk, but I still prefer to cook the wings until they are crispy and then coat in sauce for the last few minutes. I've only given it two stars, because it is some of the variations that others have suggested that make this recipe work. The recipe on its own is not that great. I much prefer Franks Red Hot/butter/vinegar/ and a little sugar to taste (coke might work! - I'll have to try that!) Two stars for the suggestion of using coke in the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leigh Sheppard

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Have been using a version of this recipe for 20 plus years. My parents brought it back from a remote village in Alaska. No BBQ Sauce so they used Ketchup, Coke and onion. In addition to BBQ also put sauce and wings or drum sticks into baking dish and bake in oven. Best thing about this recipe is you can add whatever spices you want to the recipe and make it as mild to hot as you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Really liked the idea of using coke in wings, but I tweaked the original recipe and love the way I do them now. People are always asking for the sauce, and we've found it goes well on burgers and hotdogs... here's how i changed it: 3 lbs chicken wings 3 parts Kosher salt, 1 part cracked pepper, 1 part garlic powder (or just Garlic Southern Flavor if you have it) - just enough to sprinkle evenly over the cut wings Sauce: 12 oz Coke - go ahead and open it, so it'll flatten out a little. you just want the sugar/flavor not the fizz 1 bottle Trappy's Louisiana hot sauce 1 cup Frank's Original hot sauce 0.5 teaspoon Cayenne pepper 1.5 tsp Cajun Seasoning (like Emerald's or Tony Chachere's) .5 tsp black pepper 1.5 tsp garlic powder 1 stick of butter 1 tablespoon Worcestershire 3 tbs white vinegar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
i thought these were pretty good! i would like to figure out how to alter the sauce a bit to make it a bit more tangy/sweet and thicker...other than that, great recipe, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lulu4014
Home Town: Oceanside, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
These are awesome. Work, yes, but isn't most good food? People are so used to whacking open a cardboard box and throwing frozen processed 'food' into the oven that they forget how to make a real (tasty and healthy) meal. The wings weren't greasy and not too spicy. I liked that I could easily pull off excess chicken skin that I didn't want to eat. I will make these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
Fantastic!!!! I loved this recipe. I'm on the South Beach Diet, so I used a Diet Coke and added about 1/4c Sugar-Free Maple Syrup. It was great!! Next time I'm making it a little bit spicier, and that will probably be sometime this week because I can't wait.. @Jim The recipe doesn't say how long to put the wings in the sauce between grillings, so that may be confusing.. So, I just dipped them and put them back on the grill on about a medium temp. Don't boil the wings. The sauce dries and the chicken cooks, and you get multiple layers of dried sauce. I actually boiled the sauce to thicken it before I even started grilling, which helped as well I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Archbold, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2011
I followed the recipe precisly. A huge disappointment! With the ratings, this is obviously a desired receipe for many. However, to me, they tasted boiled and inadequately flavored and spiced. So, I'll stick with the oven or grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Buffalo Wings

Learn how to make grilled Buffalo Wings and a blue cheese dipping sauce.

Buffalo Chicken Wings III

These baked wings get an extra flavor kick from cayenne pepper.

Baked Buffalo Wings

See how to make delicious hot wings in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States