Grilled Bacon Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
I actually made these in the oven. It was just to hot outside to cook. At least inside you have air. I did cut out the salt as I felt the bacon would add that ing. I also cut back on the brown sugar. Sprinkled a dusting of brown sugar onto wedges of potatos. Secured Bacon with toothpicks. Brushed potatos with oil wrapped in foil and cooked till tender. Yummy, I do plan on doing the grill method as soon as it cools off outside. Thanks so much for the post. A new twist on a baked or grilled potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
Really great spin on the regular baked potatoe. Very tasty & sweet. The bacon adds just the right amount of salty to it. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Hooper, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
This is a really great recipe! Just the right amount of bacon flavor! They were a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
I made this recipe by the method rather than using the exact measurements. My potatoes were much smaller than baking potatoes, so I decreased all the other ingredients. I also got to try out the tip I had heard that said to slice the potatoes on the bowl of a wooden spoon to keep from slicing through. It works! I baked these in foil in a 400 degree oven for 1 1/4 hours. The men at dinner really liked this recipe. They said it has a salty/sweet flavor that really complements the potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
These potatoes are excellent. My husband does not like baked potatoes so I was hesitant to try these, but even he loved them! The sweetness of the brown sugar worked wonderfully with the bacon and potato. They were a huge hit with my family. I pre-baked the potatoes in the oven so they wouldn't have to grill as long. When they were tender I took them out and added the rest of the ingredients and put them in the fridge until grill time. It's a great, low effort, make ahead side dish. They only took about 20 minutes on the grill doing it this way. Very easy and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
Husband and I have made these several times both at home on the grill and camping over a fire. The size of the potato does make a difference in cooking time and we did overcook them once but they were still delicious. This has become a camping staple for us and is requested often by family members. I don't use the brown sugar and do adjust other seasonings as desired but the bacon is the real star. Hightly recomended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
Loved it! The brown sugar is the key, but not as much as in the recipe. Just a good sprinkle. Couldn't stop people from putting additional butter on the potatoes either. But we were thrilled with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carrie C.
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
Great recipe. I loved the flavor of these potatoes... no butter needed here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mc Keesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Leroy Township, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Really good..big big big hit with my hubby and teenagers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tarpon Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I made these yesterday and loved them! I used small to medium potatoes and I microwaved them until done, then cooked them on the grill as directed. YUMMO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Grilled Salmon with Bacon and Corn Relish

A warm bacon and fresh corn relish make this salmon spectacular.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States