Grilled Bacon Jalapeno Wraps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
I made these for a party. There were so many reviews we tried them two nights earlier using all the different methods. Here's what I found made them great. After slicing the peppers and cleaning them out, drop in boiling water for 4 - 6 minutes. This will pretty much take all the heat out though so if you want a punch, leave the membranes. We taste tested several cream cheese flavors. We picked 3 fav's, they were the cream cheese mixed with a powdered ranch mix, or mixed with a chipotle seasoning, or mixed with worstershire and garlic powder. (we tried 12 different flavors to get this perfect) Also, I found that 1/2 a strip of bacon was not enough - used the whole thing! And finally after you put the pepper together with cheese and bacon and toothpick - freeze it for 15 min. Then 10 minutes on the grill is perfect. Thanks so much for the yummy appetizer!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2289 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Babygirl77

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hungryallweighs
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
These are a 10! After making these many times, I can tell you that you really need to make them ahead of time and put them in the refrigerator for a couple of hours or the freezer for about 15 minutes. This will allow the cheese to firm up a bit and it won't all leak out of your peppers. I also have found that if you want them hot, leave all of the membrane inside and some seeds. If you want them barely warm(like me), get almost all of the membrane out from inside the pepper and leave no seeds. I cook them in the oven on 350 for about 45 minutes. ***A low calorie version is use fat free cream cheese and wrap each 1/2 pepper with only 1/2 slice of bacon. They are just as good and only about 60 calories each!!! YUM YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1315 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hungryallweighs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
This is a great recipe - and to take some of the bite out of the peppers, I soak them in cold water after they're cut and seeded. The longer you soak them, the milder they are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
988 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
I always use Embasa brand whole pickled jalapenos; and I use half cream cheese, half shredded cheddar or 3-cheese blend. After wrapping with bacon and securing with a pick, I shake the whole lot in a ziploc bag with Parmesan cheese (the green can kind) and then bake at 400* til the bacon is done to your liking. Even my stepmother, who doesn't LIKE hot stuff, makes SURE she gets her fair share of these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
543 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
We have a different variation on this recipe that came from the Marlboro Cook Like A Man Cookbook. You mix an 8oz pkg of cream cheese with 1 tbsp Cajun Seasoning and 2 tsp Garlic Pwdr. They are awesome like that! Just make sure that you always tuck the end of the bacon under where you already wrapped it or it will unravel on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
415 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
VERY tasty, and SUPER easy... but 2 warnings: 1)WEAR GLOVES. As with all peppers contact with skin can leave you burning for hours. And since I was in a hurry I did just that - 4 hour later I still felt like my hands were in a fire. 2) BACON ON GRILL = FLAMES... The fat will start on fire... so be careful with your fire! Keep and eye it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
325 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
Try adding a packet of dry Ranch Dressing mix to the cream cheese before filling the peppers. We used to cook these every Thursday night for about 40-50 people and they were gone in a matter of minutes. Still get requests for these all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
237 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Java_Girl
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
This was pretty good. I followed the suggestions of some other reviewers and added cajun seasoning to my cream cheese, I used half slices of bacon and I baked them. The flavor is really good but I had problems with mine drowing in grease while they baked. I might try elevating them on a rack next time. ***UPDATE*** I elevated them the next time and they were really good but extremely hot. I used some older jalapenos and they were so hot they were inedible! Buy fresh jalapenos if you can and it will lessen the chance of getting the inedible ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
172 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Java_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
The de-seeding is a bit of a pain, but these are very good. I simmered the peppers in boiling salted water for about 4 mins, then proceeded with the recipe. Peppers turned out tender, and the bacon was nice and crisp. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
165 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
We make these often at home. As another user suggested, I like turkey bacon better, but some of my family prefers regular. 1/2 a piece of bacon works great, and I like to freeze the constructed peppers (spread out on a cookie sheet so they don't stick together) prior to grilling, so the cheese doesn't melt as much while the bacon is cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
164 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FUN4REGINA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sayre, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,025) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Bacon Jalapeno Wraps

Jalapenos are stuffed with cream cheese, wrapped in bacon, and grilled!

Jalapeno Bacon Cheddar Deviled Eggs

A spicy change to regular deviled eggs.

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States