Grilled Asian Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
This is an excellent marinade. I omitted all the directions...instead I mixed up the ingredients and put them in a large plastic bag..didn't cook ingredients first. I marinated the chicken for 4 hours. Then I baked it in a 425 oven for 45 minutes in the marinade (per another reviewer)...I didn't bother to baste it...it turns a beautiful golden brown. I removed the ginger before baking. Also, instead of crushing the garlic, I diced it up really small...yum! One thing I will do next time is put foil in the pan that I'm baking in...makes cleanup much easier. This is very moist and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
214 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
I give this one 5 stars. I thought it was a very easy recipe and resulted in an excellent asian grilled chicken. Reminded me of an Japanese restaraunt I used to go to in downtown LA. I made everything per the recipe, except I doubled the marinade. This left me plenty for basting and drizzling. I also sprinkled sesame seeds on the sliced chicken. I served over Jasmine rice. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quincy, Illinois, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2004
This recipe was alright, but lacked the true bento flavor I was after. I made a few changes: doubled the marinade, marinaded overnight and cooked on the stove top. I also recommend using sodium reduced soy sauce as it was very salty. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RogueOnion8

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
Wow. That's all I can say. I followed the recipe exactly, except that I ended up adding green onions to the chicken. I cooked it in a skillet with a tbsp of oil over high heat. It is sooo good, and even with the soy sauce, it's not really all that salty. I served it with jasmine rice and some Wendjoe chilli pasta (hot chile sauce). Next time I'll steam some broccoli to go with it. So awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChunkyMonkeyMommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
THIS WAS WONDERFUL. I WILL MAKE IT AGAIN. I DID HOWEVER SUBSTITUTE 1 t GINGER POWDER SINCE I HAVE NEVER USED GINGER ROOT BEFORE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2003
The whole family loved it.. and I mean the WHOLE family all 9 of us! So far this has been the summer grilling favorite! The longer you marinate the better it taste! I definatly recommend pounding the chicken and not grilling for more than 10min very moist!! If you have leftovers there great chopped up in a salad! Thanks Janet!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARMENAIDE
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
Great and easy recipe. I added a little brown sugar also. I made it with "Betsy's Mandarin Orange Salad" and "Sesame Broccoli Salad" all very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2002
This marinade was such a hit! My boyfriend and his son declared it the best chicken they ever had. He said it put his own grilled chicken to shame (and his is really good!). We liked it so much that I made it again the very next night with pork chops. Still very good - but I think I liked it with chicken better. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JSMITH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pomona, Kansas, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
Very good! I marinated this for 7 hours and boiled the left over marinade to use as a sauce. Served with grilled pineapple, which was perfect! Even better on salmon the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
This had a subtle, nicely balanced flavor, but only after I fiddled with the marinade a bit. First, I used about half the amount of soy sauce called for. I know how it can permeate delicately flavored chicken and it could potentially have made it too salty as well. Half the amount was the right amount. Second, the type of sesame oil was not specified, and it should be. Does the submitter intend the light, cold-pressed sesame oil used for salads and for frying? Or did she intend the boldly flavored *toasted" sesame oil, used for flavor, usually not more than a dribble in ANY dish? I just used my own judgment, using the light sesame oil for the most part and just a little of the rich, brown, toasted sesame oil for its wonderful flavor. Ginger root is not something I use often so I rarely buy it (and I'm not terribly fond of it anyway). A light pinch of ground ginger sufficed. The honey was a nice addition, giving the chicken a beautiful glazed appearance once it came off the grill. The chicken was tender and moist, but I credit Hubs' expertise with grilling for that! Served with Classic Fried Rice and Easy Bok Choy, this was a delicious, darned near memorable meal, and beautiful in its presentation. (Note: I didn't see heating the marinade ingredients as necessary, so I didn't bother with that step. I just used the easier, more common method of just dumping everything into a Ziploc bag. I marinated the chicken as the submitter recommended, about 15 minutes)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 356) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Asian Grilled Chicken

See how to make a quick-and-easy marinade for tender grilled chicken thighs.

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Grilled Lemon & Yogurt Chicken

Watch Chef John make a healthy, low-fat chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States