Grilled Apple and Swiss Cheese Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
I was so surprised by how good this sandwich was! Definitely use Granny Smith apples, I think you need that tartness to make it work. I just used regular wheat bread which was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jwilke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
This recipe is perfect as is. It was great served with the Spicy Tomato and Lentil Soup on this site. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
This was so easy to make. I just added a sprinkle of cinnamon also. Love the cheesey yet crispy flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
Swiss and granny smith just happened to be what I had leftover in the fridge and needed to get rid of, so this was perfect. I'm not normally a huge Swiss cheese fan, but this was a surprisingly yummy combo. I normally dip my grilled cheese in ketchup, but instead I used a creamy dill dip, and it was the perfect meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
this was tasty, i've made it twice in the past few days to use up the ingredients. the first time i made it with french bread, thinking it would grill up nice. unfortunately, it's not the best bread to use b/c it really dried out, plus i cut it too thick. today i made it with some multi-grain sandwich bread. it was good, but i kind of burned it. both times, i finished it off in a 350° oven b/c i like my cheese really melty. so even tho i'm not great at making it (through no fault of its own), i think it's a great flavor combo. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
I gave this a three because while I didn't really care for it, I still ate it. I must just not like swiss. I love grilled cheese sandwiches and I'm always looking for ways to jazz up the basic . I was excited about this one, but the swiss just isn't for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lara C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
What a great combination of ingredients! The flavours and texture (thinly sliced apples as per directions) go very well together. I used butter instead of oil on the bread. The kids really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherry Blossom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
Why didn't I think of this before?! Apples and cheese go great together. I used a tart granny smith and some bitter Brie, so the tartness and savoriness balanced perfectly. I've also used St. Andre cheese, which was even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ruthie_pee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
It sounded different, so I tried it. It was real good,but I wanted more so I added a slice of ham and cinnamon it was very flavorful,real good both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pownal, Maine, USA
Living In: Monmouth, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
A freshing taste, quick and easy to make. A perfect light lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fattyfalldown
Home Town: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Just add cheese and toast till it's golden brown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States