Grilled Apple and Swiss Cheese Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Very skeptical at first, however I tried it and loved it. Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Delicious - I crave this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
yum! I used sliced swiss cheese rather than shredded because it's what I had on hand. It worked just fine and still tasted good, but shredded would have been better to really melt in with the apples. I also added a slice of ham to make the snadwiches a little heartier for dinner. My husband and kids devoured these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Pretty good. Better than a normal grilled cheese sandwich, in my opinion. Next time, though, I am definitely adding bacon. I might use a different type of cheese, too, like cheddar or provolone. Melted Swiss always tastes a bit bland to me. But overall, a very healthy alternative to a grilled cheese sandwich. Simple to whip up and very filling. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katherine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
3 1/2
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Yumm. Swiss cheese perfect with apple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
This was a tasty but something was missing and with Swiss I tend to get that at times. For my 'food lovin' palate', Swiss Cheese is a bit too tough and while I like Swiss on somethings (like a nice big, thick Corned Beef Rueben on Rye umm..with Russian dressing and Sauerk)...oh wait...where was I??? Oh!...this sandwich...(ummmm...Ruuueeeben) ok..ok...um...Swiss doesn't really yield much flavor to me with this sandwich. I did however, give 'meself' 4 stars because the second time I used Harvarti Cheese instead. I like the buttery taste of the cheese better with the apples. I love and used Cameo--a little sweeter but still firm. I also butter my bread (100% Whole Grain--nutty flavor/crunchy toasted texture) with "Smart Balance" (omitted olive oil), sprinkled buttered sides with a bit of cinnamon/sugar, put one slice bread *butter sides down* on heated non-stick, put 1 slice of Harvarti down, my thin sliced apple, 1 more slice of Harvarti and then my other slice of bread. Pre-sliced Harvarti is usally thin. Using a wide-wide 'panny-cake' turner i.e spatula--I smashed ever-so gently. Just to help it a long a bit. Yeeuummie. If you try this...don't overdue it on the cinnamon/sugar or you will increase the chance of burning it in spots. Don't have flames or electric too high. Slow toasting is always better even with a 'Classic Grilled Cheese'. SLOWWW TOOOAST. I would have gave myself 5 but mine is a littttttlllle bit more fattening....;o)...but sometimes fat RULES.!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
These were fabulous - the granny smith apples and swiss are such a perfect match - very quick and delicious - thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
My son really liked this (3yo). Used butter instead of olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
This recipe is even better if you add a very thinly sliced red onion to it! I like to put mine in a waffle-maker to cook, too! Kids love the pattern it makes on the outside of the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Just add cheese and toast till it's golden brown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States