Grilled Apple and Swiss Cheese Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
The Granny Smith apple was way too tart and overbearing. I added prosciutto but you couldn't even taste it with the tart apple. I would make this again with changes...red delicious apple and thinly sliced onion. My husband and I were both in complete agreement. We both decided it was much better when we dipped it in tomato soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Not sure what I was hoping for, but this didn't wow me. Thank you for the idea, though! It's always fun trying new flavor combinations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I like most things that incorporate apples and I found this recipe accidentally and was very excited about it. My husband refused to try it, but I really loved it. The only change I made was that I used butter on the bread instead of oil. I'm normally not a fan of rye bread, but it worked really well for this recipe. And as someone else said, next time, I would do thicker slices of the apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
It was alright, but not something I'd make very often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kayla Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
This didn't do anything for me. The flavors did not "blend" as other people's did. I do not think 1/3 cup of cheese is enough, as I could barely taste it. It was just like eating an apple with bread, which is to say, nothing special. I'll stick with regular grilled cheese sandwiches and have an apple on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
I will make it again, and will have fun mixing it up a bit. I didn't have Swiss, so I used sliced muenster and I added a little whole grain mustard on the cheese side of the bread. Everything melded together very nicely. The versatility of the recipe is key to being in my regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
Love apples and cheese but did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
never thought of this,,,, something different,,,,, great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by holyoke1959
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
This is a very great version of grilled cheese sandwich!! A good way to add a twist to grill cheese sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
I left out the oil and used two slices swiss cheese instead of shredded. I cooked it in the broiler. It was a little bland. I dipped it in tomato soup, but think it would have been too bland without the soup. I've tried this same thing with cheddar instead of swiss and it was a lot better. I think the cheddar goes with the apple flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Just add cheese and toast till it's golden brown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States