Grilled Apple and Swiss Cheese Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 4, 2009
This was good but I didn't think the flavor was all that exciting. It was just missing SOMETHING. Not sure what though. A good sandwich nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
I was so surprised by how good this sandwich was! Definitely use Granny Smith apples, I think you need that tartness to make it work. I just used regular wheat bread which was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jwilke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
This recipe is perfect as is. It was great served with the Spicy Tomato and Lentil Soup on this site. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
This was so easy to make. I just added a sprinkle of cinnamon also. Love the cheesey yet crispy flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
Swiss and granny smith just happened to be what I had leftover in the fridge and needed to get rid of, so this was perfect. I'm not normally a huge Swiss cheese fan, but this was a surprisingly yummy combo. I normally dip my grilled cheese in ketchup, but instead I used a creamy dill dip, and it was the perfect meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
this was tasty, i've made it twice in the past few days to use up the ingredients. the first time i made it with french bread, thinking it would grill up nice. unfortunately, it's not the best bread to use b/c it really dried out, plus i cut it too thick. today i made it with some multi-grain sandwich bread. it was good, but i kind of burned it. both times, i finished it off in a 350° oven b/c i like my cheese really melty. so even tho i'm not great at making it (through no fault of its own), i think it's a great flavor combo. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
I gave this a three because while I didn't really care for it, I still ate it. I must just not like swiss. I love grilled cheese sandwiches and I'm always looking for ways to jazz up the basic . I was excited about this one, but the swiss just isn't for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lara C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
What a great combination of ingredients! The flavours and texture (thinly sliced apples as per directions) go very well together. I used butter instead of oil on the bread. The kids really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherry Blossom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
Why didn't I think of this before?! Apples and cheese go great together. I used a tart granny smith and some bitter Brie, so the tartness and savoriness balanced perfectly. I've also used St. Andre cheese, which was even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ruthie_pee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
It sounded different, so I tried it. It was real good,but I wanted more so I added a slice of ham and cinnamon it was very flavorful,real good both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pownal, Maine, USA
Living In: Monmouth, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Just add cheese and toast till it's golden brown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States