Grilled Apple and Swiss Cheese Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
delicious! i used what i had on hand: a perfect red/yellow apple, swiss & cheddar mix sliced, and microwaved some bacon to throw on top. and a dash of rosemary. with one side of the sandwich slightly burnt. PERFECTION in my mouth. the bacon adds a lot of flavor, the apple adds sweetness and crunch, and the cheese glues it together. amen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Toasted in toaster oven (no butter/oil) with American cheese and granny smith. I'll try other combinations and properly frying it in a pan with butter/oil next time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Simple, and I added maple/dijon mustard as well. I used wheat bread and provolone instead and used mcintosh apples because that's what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
Very yummy! Made with brie and muenster cheese, whole grain bread, and granny smith apples. Served with golden carrot soup from a different site. A wonderful fall lunch or dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Hinman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
This sanwich was alright, but I definetly agree with those who said it is missing something...It's pretty bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
It was pretty tasty, my husband even liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
Not as great as I was hoping. Make sure to slice the apples really thin or sautee them prior to assembling the sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARTMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
I love this sandwhich. It's a real crowd pleaser! I provided a link to this recipe in my article entitled "Healthy Foods for a Vegetarn Diet."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
This has to be the best grilled cheese ever! I used Monterey Sourdough bread instead of wheat, and butter instead of olive oil... Wow Can't wait for my husband to try this! Served it along side a bowl of tomato soup that contained fresh tomatoes, onions, garlic, peppers, eggplant, smoked reduced sodium bacon, rosemary, and chive. That puts a twist in the old Grilled Cheese and Tomato Soup Favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
My husband can't eat apples unless they have been cooked (they make his throat scratchy). We are both originally from Wisconsin so we love our cheese. I thought that this would be a great way to combine two things he loves, but doesn't always get to eat. I was a little leery at first, but thought I'd give it a whirl. I'm so glad I did. Both my husband and I loved it. He has requested that I make it again soon. I used Swiss cheese and whole wheat bread (just store bought sandwich bread) and it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Just add cheese and toast till it's golden brown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States