Grilled Apple and Swiss Cheese Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
delicious! i used what i had on hand: a perfect red/yellow apple, swiss & cheddar mix sliced, and microwaved some bacon to throw on top. and a dash of rosemary. with one side of the sandwich slightly burnt. PERFECTION in my mouth. the bacon adds a lot of flavor, the apple adds sweetness and crunch, and the cheese glues it together. amen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Toasted in toaster oven (no butter/oil) with American cheese and granny smith. I'll try other combinations and properly frying it in a pan with butter/oil next time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Simple, and I added maple/dijon mustard as well. I used wheat bread and provolone instead and used mcintosh apples because that's what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
Very yummy! Made with brie and muenster cheese, whole grain bread, and granny smith apples. Served with golden carrot soup from a different site. A wonderful fall lunch or dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Hinman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
This sanwich was alright, but I definetly agree with those who said it is missing something...It's pretty bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
It was pretty tasty, my husband even liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
Not as great as I was hoping. Make sure to slice the apples really thin or sautee them prior to assembling the sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARTMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
I love this sandwhich. It's a real crowd pleaser! I provided a link to this recipe in my article entitled "Healthy Foods for a Vegetarn Diet."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
This has to be the best grilled cheese ever! I used Monterey Sourdough bread instead of wheat, and butter instead of olive oil... Wow Can't wait for my husband to try this! Served it along side a bowl of tomato soup that contained fresh tomatoes, onions, garlic, peppers, eggplant, smoked reduced sodium bacon, rosemary, and chive. That puts a twist in the old Grilled Cheese and Tomato Soup Favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
My husband can't eat apples unless they have been cooked (they make his throat scratchy). We are both originally from Wisconsin so we love our cheese. I thought that this would be a great way to combine two things he loves, but doesn't always get to eat. I was a little leery at first, but thought I'd give it a whirl. I'm so glad I did. Both my husband and I loved it. He has requested that I make it again soon. I used Swiss cheese and whole wheat bread (just store bought sandwich bread) and it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Just add cheese and toast till it's golden brown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States