Griddle Style Philly Steak Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
We loved these simple, tasty sandwiches! I cleaned out my cheese drawer and used provolone, swiss and pepper jack. All three were tasty, but the pepper jack was my favorite! Thanks, AUTUMNHEARTS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
Try it u will love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
I too used fresh mushrooms and cooked in a skillet, but it was very tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Wow! Super easy and very tasty. Even the picky one liked it! Recommend a few less slices of cheese unless you're a big cheese fan. If you're in a bind for the seasoning Montreal Steak seasoning works great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Delish! Will make again!! Just added a little mayo to ours. Didn't have a griddle so just made in a large frying pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
I wanted something different for a friday night meal besides the chinese take-out or pizza delivery. Philly cheese steaks came to mind and in my search for a recipe I came across this one. Not too complicated and minimal ingredients. Well it came out so perfect and tasty. I was impressed and have since added to the dinner rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrezia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Very good. I made this 2 ways. The first way was according to the recipe except omitting the mushroooms because we didn't have any on hand and this was good. The 2nd improved version was by sauteing the veggies - onions (red & white) and bell pepper - in olive oil. Then I added the a mixture of sliced roast beef and italian beef and some dried parsley and jalapeno peppers. Once the mixture was warmed I added 1/8 block of cream cheese to enhance the creaminess and served on submarine rolls with provel cheese, swiss, and mozarella instead of the provolone. This was much better!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Easy. Fantastic. Perhaps I kept the beef on too long or had the griddle temp too high, but the beef dried out a bit. It may be helpful to put the vegetables on first for a few minutes, and then the beef toward the end. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
We LOVE this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kentucky Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
There is no "roast beef" in a Philly cheese steak, there is no such thing as a "Submarine Roll" in a philiiy cheese steak it's called a "Hoagie" roll the brand Used in Philly are "Amoroso" rolls. I have bought allot of rolls, and the only other one that comes close believe it or not is from Sam’s club. the first two pictures are not "Hoagie" rolls, they are cheap store bought, mass market knock off rolls, the 3rd picture is a real "Hoagie" roll, but the Ingredients are actually from a sandwich called "Hog Island" sandwich That was created at a World War I era shipyard "Hog Island" in Philadelphia And has nothing in common with this recipe or a philly cheese steak. Let’s just call this a roast beef sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark Farmer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marmora, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Philly Cheesesteak Sandwich with Garlic Mayo

A tangy garlic mayo is the key to these easy steak sandwiches.

Philly Cheese Steak Pizza

Grab a slice of Philly Cheese Steak pizza!

Mini Philly Cheese Steak

See how to make tiny cheese steak appetizers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States