Griddle Style Philly Steak Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
Try it u will love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
I too used fresh mushrooms and cooked in a skillet, but it was very tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Wow! Super easy and very tasty. Even the picky one liked it! Recommend a few less slices of cheese unless you're a big cheese fan. If you're in a bind for the seasoning Montreal Steak seasoning works great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Delish! Will make again!! Just added a little mayo to ours. Didn't have a griddle so just made in a large frying pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
I wanted something different for a friday night meal besides the chinese take-out or pizza delivery. Philly cheese steaks came to mind and in my search for a recipe I came across this one. Not too complicated and minimal ingredients. Well it came out so perfect and tasty. I was impressed and have since added to the dinner rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrezia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Very good. I made this 2 ways. The first way was according to the recipe except omitting the mushroooms because we didn't have any on hand and this was good. The 2nd improved version was by sauteing the veggies - onions (red & white) and bell pepper - in olive oil. Then I added the a mixture of sliced roast beef and italian beef and some dried parsley and jalapeno peppers. Once the mixture was warmed I added 1/8 block of cream cheese to enhance the creaminess and served on submarine rolls with provel cheese, swiss, and mozarella instead of the provolone. This was much better!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Easy. Fantastic. Perhaps I kept the beef on too long or had the griddle temp too high, but the beef dried out a bit. It may be helpful to put the vegetables on first for a few minutes, and then the beef toward the end. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
We LOVE this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kentucky Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
There is no "roast beef" in a Philly cheese steak, there is no such thing as a "Submarine Roll" in a philiiy cheese steak it's called a "Hoagie" roll the brand Used in Philly are "Amoroso" rolls. I have bought allot of rolls, and the only other one that comes close believe it or not is from Sam’s club. the first two pictures are not "Hoagie" rolls, they are cheap store bought, mass market knock off rolls, the 3rd picture is a real "Hoagie" roll, but the Ingredients are actually from a sandwich called "Hog Island" sandwich That was created at a World War I era shipyard "Hog Island" in Philadelphia And has nothing in common with this recipe or a philly cheese steak. Let’s just call this a roast beef sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KingSparta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marmora, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
I actually made my vegetables in a skillet instead of on my griddle. I used fresh mushrooms, red pepper and I added some fresh minced garlic and sauteed it with a little butter. I used Johnny's Seasoning Salt (Seattle, reppin' here!). For the rolls, I did spread them with garlic butter before toasting I did not eat this but my boys did and they really liked it. It was very simple, used on hand ingredients AND I was able to make dinner in no time. I'll use this recipe again. NOTE: It's really sad when people downrate a recipe due to them not being "authentic" or not what they expect a "real" version of the recipe to be. Everyone has their own take on what they think is good food. For us, we liked this (with a few small changes to suit what worked for us) and we'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Philly Cheesesteak Sandwich with Garlic Mayo

A tangy garlic mayo is the key to these easy steak sandwiches.

Philly Cheese Steak Pizza

Grab a slice of Philly Cheese Steak pizza!

Sicilian Steak Sandwich

Put a sensational Sicilian spin on the Philly steak sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States