Griddle Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2005
This was a disaster. The dough was too dense, and to bake through a 3/4 inch hunk of dough on a hot griddle, without burning it, was beyond my culinary skills.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
I decided not to cook on a griddle, instead I preheated oven to 400 degrees and baked scones for 20 minutes. They are delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
mmm yummy i made them flatter and i made them more round but with jam they were delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
These were my first attempt at making scones and they turned out lovely. I was attracted to this recipe because it looked so easy compared to the other and it was! I substituted butter for shortening and added a cup of dried cranberries. I didn't fry, but baked them at 400 degrees for twenty minutes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
This is a keeper. I followed the previous reviewer's suggestion and baked them at 400 for 20 minutes and they came out perfect. Crispy outside, tender inside. I also drizzled a maple glaze over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Nelson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
like other reviewers, i baked at 400 for 20 minutes. also used butter instead of shortening/lard and added a tbls of sugar to cut out the corn syrup. i folded in fresh blueberries just before shaping the circles and added a few more on top. easy and quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
This is exactly the recipe I was looking for and it's delicious. I baked them as suggested but will try the griddle later for authenticity. If you want a lighter scone with lots of fat, choose a different recipe. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
After following other reviews and baking instead of stovetop, I wound up with thick, doughy tastless, scones. The kids were spreading butter on them and dipping them in the sugar bowl to make them edible. I think I will stick with the Simple Scones recipe on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rathdrum, Idaho, USA
Living In: Ramona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Just made these and love them! Baked them due to a time constraint. Divided the completed dough in half and mixed 1 tsp cinnamon( roasted Saigon) in with one half of the batch. Baked each mound as stated above. When finished baking, I dusted the cinnamon scone with white sugar and additional cinnamon and left in oven for two more minutes to set sugar. Loved both types!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States