Griddle Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2005
This was a disaster. The dough was too dense, and to bake through a 3/4 inch hunk of dough on a hot griddle, without burning it, was beyond my culinary skills.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
I decided not to cook on a griddle, instead I preheated oven to 400 degrees and baked scones for 20 minutes. They are delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
mmm yummy i made them flatter and i made them more round but with jam they were delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Just made these and love them! Baked them due to a time constraint. Divided the completed dough in half and mixed 1 tsp cinnamon( roasted Saigon) in with one half of the batch. Baked each mound as stated above. When finished baking, I dusted the cinnamon scone with white sugar and additional cinnamon and left in oven for two more minutes to set sugar. Loved both types!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
These were my first attempt at making scones and they turned out lovely. I was attracted to this recipe because it looked so easy compared to the other and it was! I substituted butter for shortening and added a cup of dried cranberries. I didn't fry, but baked them at 400 degrees for twenty minutes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
After following other reviews and baking instead of stovetop, I wound up with thick, doughy tastless, scones. The kids were spreading butter on them and dipping them in the sugar bowl to make them edible. I think I will stick with the Simple Scones recipe on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rathdrum, Idaho, USA
Living In: Ramona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
This is a keeper. I followed the previous reviewer's suggestion and baked them at 400 for 20 minutes and they came out perfect. Crispy outside, tender inside. I also drizzled a maple glaze over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Nelson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
This is exactly the recipe I was looking for and it's delicious. I baked them as suggested but will try the griddle later for authenticity. If you want a lighter scone with lots of fat, choose a different recipe. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
like other reviewers, i baked at 400 for 20 minutes. also used butter instead of shortening/lard and added a tbls of sugar to cut out the corn syrup. i folded in fresh blueberries just before shaping the circles and added a few more on top. easy and quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
thank you for this recipe - others list buttermilk which I knew my Scotch Nana didn't use. I think she used sugar instead of corn syrup. All her recipe cards are for baked scones, but the griddle ones are the ones I used to make with her and have had a craving for. Thanks for sharing your grandmother's recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States