Grenadian Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ZAKIAH
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
Yummy! I made this cake with a little bit of changes. Used evaporated milk instead of milk,also added a teaspoon of honey, some raisins and almond. Changing milk to evaporated milk made the cake a bit richer and moist, if you like your cake a bit dense. I tried using regular milk and the cake turn out like any normal cake.Easy,no hassle and delicious! A keeper indeed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZAKIAH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gombak, Selangor, Malaysia
Living In: Okayama, Okayama, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2002
When a friend returned from a Grenada vacation and gave me a little souvenir basket of nutmeg, mace and other spices, I looked on the Web for a Genadian recipe to make to thank her. I found this Genadian Spice Cake. (None of my several Caribbean cuisine cookbooks had anything like it.) It was fabulous! Gloriously fragrant and moist. A total delight on the first try. It will surely become one of our family's stable sweet desserts/snacks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2001
This spice cake is easy to make and the flavor is so wonderful; i would recommend this recipes for any function, gathering, just anything !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
Loved the smell of the spices! OMG how this reminds me of home! (yes Grenada). My aunt would be so proud of me for making this, I miss her! lol...It's a keeper, I will make this again & again! Yummy for breakfast as well! It's more like a bread, or *buns* Caribbean ppl do you know what I mean? Remember Christmas bun?! I miss those!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
What a wonderful flavor of Grenada! I love the smell of these spices. I follow recipe exactly. Excellent texture and flavor. Definitely I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2003
My son won a blue ribbon in 4-H last year for this recipie. Thank you for putting it online! P.S.- We used the Coffee Icing submitted by Carol with this. They made the perfect combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2004
HUGE hit with adults as well as with children. Very fresh, delicious flavor, almost like pound cake. Recipe doubles just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
Very tasty cake! I loved the different spice combination with the lime zest much better than the more traditional American spice cake (most have too much cinnamon! for me!) I baked in a loaf pan, but a tester came out clean after only 1 hour. I found the cake to have the texture of a dense pound cake. I might experiment using another white cake recipe with this spice mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
This is the best cake ever, I made it and it was so soft and tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
This cake is AMAZING. It's just perfect. I didn't have any allspice or limes. I used lemon zest instead. The outside is crispy and the inside is supermoist. I think 90 min was too long. Nextime I will bake tor 75 or 80 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States