Grenadian Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ZAKIAH
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
Yummy! I made this cake with a little bit of changes. Used evaporated milk instead of milk,also added a teaspoon of honey, some raisins and almond. Changing milk to evaporated milk made the cake a bit richer and moist, if you like your cake a bit dense. I tried using regular milk and the cake turn out like any normal cake.Easy,no hassle and delicious! A keeper indeed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZAKIAH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gombak, Selangor, Malaysia
Living In: Okayama, Okayama, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2002
When a friend returned from a Grenada vacation and gave me a little souvenir basket of nutmeg, mace and other spices, I looked on the Web for a Genadian recipe to make to thank her. I found this Genadian Spice Cake. (None of my several Caribbean cuisine cookbooks had anything like it.) It was fabulous! Gloriously fragrant and moist. A total delight on the first try. It will surely become one of our family's stable sweet desserts/snacks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2001
This spice cake is easy to make and the flavor is so wonderful; i would recommend this recipes for any function, gathering, just anything !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
Loved the smell of the spices! OMG how this reminds me of home! (yes Grenada). My aunt would be so proud of me for making this, I miss her! lol...It's a keeper, I will make this again & again! Yummy for breakfast as well! It's more like a bread, or *buns* Caribbean ppl do you know what I mean? Remember Christmas bun?! I miss those!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
What a wonderful flavor of Grenada! I love the smell of these spices. I follow recipe exactly. Excellent texture and flavor. Definitely I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2003
My son won a blue ribbon in 4-H last year for this recipie. Thank you for putting it online! P.S.- We used the Coffee Icing submitted by Carol with this. They made the perfect combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2004
HUGE hit with adults as well as with children. Very fresh, delicious flavor, almost like pound cake. Recipe doubles just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
Very tasty cake! I loved the different spice combination with the lime zest much better than the more traditional American spice cake (most have too much cinnamon! for me!) I baked in a loaf pan, but a tester came out clean after only 1 hour. I found the cake to have the texture of a dense pound cake. I might experiment using another white cake recipe with this spice mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
This is the best cake ever, I made it and it was so soft and tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
The flavor of this cake was pretty mild. Just "Okay". I even added a little extra spices due to other reviewers commenting on the lack of spice. I baked mine in a round 8 or 9 inch baking pan for 35 minutes. Put a tooth pick in and it came out clean. When I cut it there was still some raw dough in the center. I put it back in the oven but it wasn't quite right, of course. The top was getting brown so if I make this again I will put some foil on top to try for a better result. I gently scooped the flour into the measuring cup as I always do with baked goods. The result for me was that the cake texture was soft and tender. Less dense than a pound cake but more dense than a white or yellow cake. I also found this cake to be a little too sweet for my preferences. Next time I'll withhold some sugar. I even put a tablespoon of lemon juice in because I had no zest. So I found it particularly too sweet. I also found it to be a bit too oily. I wish I'd subbed half a cup of apple sauce. I think with some fiddling this could be a very good recipe. I also think it could make a delicious sweet bread if pecans were added and it was baked in the loaf pan as directed. I may try this again at Christmas time and see what comes of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikolette T

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States