Grenadian Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
This a GREAT recipe!Perfect for "cake" people and non "cake" people ( being one myself!) I made a few changes based on some other reveiws. Used evaporated milk in place of the reg. ( adds creaminess and moisture)and since i had no limes in the house had to use some bottled lime juice in place of the zest.Also upped the spices, by adding the amount written on the recipe and then adding an extra half of those amounts. I was going to make an icing or glaze to go with this, but once i tasted it with some powered sugar on top, it was all over... it was too good as is to mess with any further!! I LOVE this recipe!! Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
I took this to my supper club for latin night. I made it as written except I substituted coconut milk for the regular milk. Also sqeezed a key lime in. Baked for 55 min in a bundt pan and sprinkled with powdered sugar. Was a big hit at the supper club. Nice and moist, pretty dense with a crispy outside. Used the Passion Fruit Mousse recipe as a "topping". I didn't like it together but others did. I think it was great with no topping. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
This is good - really moist - but don't shy away from the spices. I think it needs more of a kick, personally. I made a cinnamon-vanilla glaze to top it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cheefcook
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
The flavor of this cake was good however the texture was a bit dry. We used spices we brought back from Grenada and instead of the loaf pan, we baked the cake in a 9" round cake pan. We dusted the cake with powdered sugar then, to combat the dryness, we served it with whipped cream. It wasn't difficult to made but really not worth the effort of making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape May, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
Loved the smell of the spices! OMG how this reminds me of home! (yes Grenada). My aunt would be so proud of me for making this, I miss her! lol...It's a keeper, I will make this again & again! Yummy for breakfast as well! It's more like a bread, or *buns* Caribbean ppl do you know what I mean? Remember Christmas bun?! I miss those!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
Beautiful flavor. I took Zakiah's advice and used evaporated milk and the cake had the perfect moisture on the inside. The outside came out a bit overdone. I adjusted the time to 70 minutes because I was using a bundt pan but this was way too long. I will try again and bake for 65 minutes for this type of pan. Excellent flavor. Thank you Holly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K.Jean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washingtonville, New York, USA
Living In: Middletown, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
This cake is AMAZING. It's just perfect. I didn't have any allspice or limes. I used lemon zest instead. The outside is crispy and the inside is supermoist. I think 90 min was too long. Nextime I will bake tor 75 or 80 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
delicious!! i subsuited the milk with coconut milk to give it more of an island flair. everyone love it! thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
I've been making this cake for years now, and it always turns out great. I always change the kind of zest I use to whatever I have on hand and it still turns out delish every time. My hubby likes this a lot because he's not into super sweet stuff. Thanks for providing a such a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEANYA

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
This was great! I put it into a larger pan and it cooked for less than half the time the recipe says which was fabulous. I sprinkled it with sugar on top. I also made a topping for it that sticks with the whole theme. I sliced fresh peaches, and let them sit with fresh squeezed lime juice, some spiced rum, and sugar. It was awesome together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Timmins, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States