Grenadian Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
Made this for my nephew's birthday. He is a big spice cake fan. I used evaporated milk rather than plain and baked it in 2 cake pans for 25 minutes. It came out perfect. (I frosted it with "Coffee Icing" by Carol on this site and that is to die for!) I am not rating it with 5 stars because it has far less spice taste than a box cake. I think it is a sophisticated looking and tasting cake however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
This is a good spice cake which resembles pound cake. It baked in about 70 minutes in a 9X5 for me, and I probably should've pulled it out five minutes earlier because the edges got a little dark and crunchy. I didn't have a lime so I used lime juice. The flavor probably wasn't as strong but it was still good. I served it with Jay's Jamaican Jerk Chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalie
Home Town: Canal Fulton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
I didn't make this recipe, but I assigned it to a guest at our Taste of the Tropics dinner party and she made it. Everyone at the party ate it and enjoyed it, and usually there is someone who passes on the cake (I have no idea why anyone would ever do such a thing!)...but it was very yummy and the perfect ending to our tropical and slightly spicy meal we had (Trinidad Stewed Chicken). She cooked it in a round cake pan instead of a loaf pan so it didn't need as much baking time and we served it with vanilla bean ice cream. I will make this myself sometime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
I used this recipe to compliment a large caribbean barbeque and it was the perfect cake for the job. I loved the lime zest that was well tasted in the cake, but not over-dominant. Garnished the cake with slivers of pineapple, and lime slices. LOVE THIS CAKE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
What a wonderful flavor of Grenada! I love the smell of these spices. I follow recipe exactly. Excellent texture and flavor. Definitely I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
Oh yes - this is a most excellent cake. I didn't have a lime handy so I zested a clementine. I also used fat free plain organic yogurt instead of milk to make it moister with a tighter crumb and baked it in an ungreased 9" springform pan (lined the bottomw with baking paper). It was perfect. Nicely spiced as is and the orange gave it a hint of sweetness. Drizzled the plates with honey before serving. DH ate 3 slices, and he's usually a chocolate guy. Thanks for the keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabsmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
Made this and took to work for our monthly breakfast. It was very well received. I baked just as directed (this first time). Next time I would probably up the spices also. But really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
Amazing! I love spice cakes in general, but this one was fantastic. I didn't have any limes, so I used orange zest instead. I also used coconut milk instead of regular milk as I already had some on hand. I added a little more spice and used a butter-substitute. I halved the recipe as I wasn't sure how it would be, but it turned out great! I couldn't stop eating it until it was gone! Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
I made in on mothers day and it was a huge hit, great recipe thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
This cake is delicious. I doubled the spices and used evaporated milk as others had suggested. The cake was nice and dense and only needed a dusting of powdered sugar to make it perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stphard212

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States