Grenadian Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ZAKIAH
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
Yummy! I made this cake with a little bit of changes. Used evaporated milk instead of milk,also added a teaspoon of honey, some raisins and almond. Changing milk to evaporated milk made the cake a bit richer and moist, if you like your cake a bit dense. I tried using regular milk and the cake turn out like any normal cake.Easy,no hassle and delicious! A keeper indeed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZAKIAH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gombak, Selangor, Malaysia
Living In: Okayama, Okayama, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2003
My son won a blue ribbon in 4-H last year for this recipie. Thank you for putting it online! P.S.- We used the Coffee Icing submitted by Carol with this. They made the perfect combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
This is the best cake ever, I made it and it was so soft and tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2004
HUGE hit with adults as well as with children. Very fresh, delicious flavor, almost like pound cake. Recipe doubles just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2005
Very good. My daughter had to do a report on Grenada for school, and we made this cake as part of her presentation. Very easy because everything is already on the shelf. 75 minutes for baking seemed just enough time. Recipe simple enough for my 9 year old. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Georgetown, Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2005
Excellent flavour and texture. WIll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2005
This is a delicious spice cake recipe - as soon as it cools I'm going to try a cream cheese icing on it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
Very tasty! Mine got a little crispy after 80 minutes, but I think it's my oven. Had it with strawberries and kiwis & it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
This was great! I put it into a larger pan and it cooked for less than half the time the recipe says which was fabulous. I sprinkled it with sugar on top. I also made a topping for it that sticks with the whole theme. I sliced fresh peaches, and let them sit with fresh squeezed lime juice, some spiced rum, and sugar. It was awesome together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Timmins, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
I've been making this cake for years now, and it always turns out great. I always change the kind of zest I use to whatever I have on hand and it still turns out delish every time. My hubby likes this a lot because he's not into super sweet stuff. Thanks for providing a such a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEANYA

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States