Grenadian Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ZAKIAH
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
Yummy! I made this cake with a little bit of changes. Used evaporated milk instead of milk,also added a teaspoon of honey, some raisins and almond. Changing milk to evaporated milk made the cake a bit richer and moist, if you like your cake a bit dense. I tried using regular milk and the cake turn out like any normal cake.Easy,no hassle and delicious! A keeper indeed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZAKIAH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gombak, Selangor, Malaysia
Living In: Okayama, Okayama, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2002
When a friend returned from a Grenada vacation and gave me a little souvenir basket of nutmeg, mace and other spices, I looked on the Web for a Genadian recipe to make to thank her. I found this Genadian Spice Cake. (None of my several Caribbean cuisine cookbooks had anything like it.) It was fabulous! Gloriously fragrant and moist. A total delight on the first try. It will surely become one of our family's stable sweet desserts/snacks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2001
This spice cake is easy to make and the flavor is so wonderful; i would recommend this recipes for any function, gathering, just anything !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
Loved the smell of the spices! OMG how this reminds me of home! (yes Grenada). My aunt would be so proud of me for making this, I miss her! lol...It's a keeper, I will make this again & again! Yummy for breakfast as well! It's more like a bread, or *buns* Caribbean ppl do you know what I mean? Remember Christmas bun?! I miss those!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
What a wonderful flavor of Grenada! I love the smell of these spices. I follow recipe exactly. Excellent texture and flavor. Definitely I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2003
My son won a blue ribbon in 4-H last year for this recipie. Thank you for putting it online! P.S.- We used the Coffee Icing submitted by Carol with this. They made the perfect combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2004
HUGE hit with adults as well as with children. Very fresh, delicious flavor, almost like pound cake. Recipe doubles just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
Very tasty cake! I loved the different spice combination with the lime zest much better than the more traditional American spice cake (most have too much cinnamon! for me!) I baked in a loaf pan, but a tester came out clean after only 1 hour. I found the cake to have the texture of a dense pound cake. I might experiment using another white cake recipe with this spice mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
This is the best cake ever, I made it and it was so soft and tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
This cake is AMAZING. It's just perfect. I didn't have any allspice or limes. I used lemon zest instead. The outside is crispy and the inside is supermoist. I think 90 min was too long. Nextime I will bake tor 75 or 80 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States