Grenadian Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Loved this Cake. I suprised my Grenadian boyfriend with this cake over Thanksgiving and he loved it... Came out very moist and eally good. I plan to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Honey Bee
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Amazing cake, perfect for autumn and along side mulled apple cider! I added swirled chocolate ganache to the top of mine for a pretty pattern and a bit more sweetness , though this cake is great without any powdered sugar and extremely moist! Good base for an apple upside cake, or a coffee crumb topping would be nice, could do allot with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Honey Bee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
This was very easy and tasted wonderful. I used pumpkin pie spice in place of nutmeg, and doubled the spice. I put it in a pie pan and cooked it for about 25-30 minutes. Very moist cake. Will be making this again. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
Very tasty cake! I loved the different spice combination with the lime zest much better than the more traditional American spice cake (most have too much cinnamon! for me!) I baked in a loaf pan, but a tester came out clean after only 1 hour. I found the cake to have the texture of a dense pound cake. I might experiment using another white cake recipe with this spice mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Excellent recipe, great amount of flavour! I had overripe pears and just put them on the top of the cake. It turned out absolutely delicious! Thanks for sharing!! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
The lime zest & spices create a unique loaf cake. I used room temp. butter (instead of chilled) to cream with the sugar, and I substituted half applesauce for part of the butter. I also cut back a little on the sugar since I am a high altitude baker. My loaf was done at 60 min. so be sure to check on this as 75 - 90 min. seems way too long. The loaf was beautiful and tasted great with a cup of coffee. I'll make this again. I could see serving this with grilled pineapple and a little whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
My in-laws raved about this cake. It is definitely spicy and moist. I didn't finish my piece, so that's why I am only rating it as 4 stars; maybe I just don't care for spice cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
The flavor of this cake was pretty mild. Just "Okay". I even added a little extra spices due to other reviewers commenting on the lack of spice. I baked mine in a round 8 or 9 inch baking pan for 35 minutes. Put a tooth pick in and it came out clean. When I cut it there was still some raw dough in the center. I put it back in the oven but it wasn't quite right, of course. The top was getting brown so if I make this again I will put some foil on top to try for a better result. I gently scooped the flour into the measuring cup as I always do with baked goods. The result for me was that the cake texture was soft and tender. Less dense than a pound cake but more dense than a white or yellow cake. I also found this cake to be a little too sweet for my preferences. Next time I'll withhold some sugar. I even put a tablespoon of lemon juice in because I had no zest. So I found it particularly too sweet. I also found it to be a bit too oily. I wish I'd subbed half a cup of apple sauce. I think with some fiddling this could be a very good recipe. I also think it could make a delicious sweet bread if pecans were added and it was baked in the loaf pan as directed. I may try this again at Christmas time and see what comes of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikolette T

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
A tasty cake. I added a splash of honeyed whiskey to the mix, along with some fresh ginger. The lime flavor wasn't vert prominent. Next time I'd use more lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Swoon. Am eating a slice as I type. I replaced the milk with coconut milk as suggested by a couple other reviewers. This simple to make cake is one of the most delicious things I've eaten. I baked it in a medium square tin and it only took 35 min to bake. Oh, I also added 1T of lime juice. I love this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States