Grenadian Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Loved this Cake. I suprised my Grenadian boyfriend with this cake over Thanksgiving and he loved it... Came out very moist and eally good. I plan to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Honey Bee
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Amazing cake, perfect for autumn and along side mulled apple cider! I added swirled chocolate ganache to the top of mine for a pretty pattern and a bit more sweetness , though this cake is great without any powdered sugar and extremely moist! Good base for an apple upside cake, or a coffee crumb topping would be nice, could do allot with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Honey Bee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
This was very easy and tasted wonderful. I used pumpkin pie spice in place of nutmeg, and doubled the spice. I put it in a pie pan and cooked it for about 25-30 minutes. Very moist cake. Will be making this again. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
Very tasty cake! I loved the different spice combination with the lime zest much better than the more traditional American spice cake (most have too much cinnamon! for me!) I baked in a loaf pan, but a tester came out clean after only 1 hour. I found the cake to have the texture of a dense pound cake. I might experiment using another white cake recipe with this spice mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Excellent recipe, great amount of flavour! I had overripe pears and just put them on the top of the cake. It turned out absolutely delicious! Thanks for sharing!! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
The lime zest & spices create a unique loaf cake. I used room temp. butter (instead of chilled) to cream with the sugar, and I substituted half applesauce for part of the butter. I also cut back a little on the sugar since I am a high altitude baker. My loaf was done at 60 min. so be sure to check on this as 75 - 90 min. seems way too long. The loaf was beautiful and tasted great with a cup of coffee. I'll make this again. I could see serving this with grilled pineapple and a little whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
My in-laws raved about this cake. It is definitely spicy and moist. I didn't finish my piece, so that's why I am only rating it as 4 stars; maybe I just don't care for spice cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
The flavor of this cake was pretty mild. Just "Okay". I even added a little extra spices due to other reviewers commenting on the lack of spice. I baked mine in a round 8 or 9 inch baking pan for 35 minutes. Put a tooth pick in and it came out clean. When I cut it there was still some raw dough in the center. I put it back in the oven but it wasn't quite right, of course. The top was getting brown so if I make this again I will put some foil on top to try for a better result. I gently scooped the flour into the measuring cup as I always do with baked goods. The result for me was that the cake texture was soft and tender. Less dense than a pound cake but more dense than a white or yellow cake. I also found this cake to be a little too sweet for my preferences. Next time I'll withhold some sugar. I even put a tablespoon of lemon juice in because I had no zest. So I found it particularly too sweet. I also found it to be a bit too oily. I wish I'd subbed half a cup of apple sauce. I think with some fiddling this could be a very good recipe. I also think it could make a delicious sweet bread if pecans were added and it was baked in the loaf pan as directed. I may try this again at Christmas time and see what comes of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikolette T

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
A tasty cake. I added a splash of honeyed whiskey to the mix, along with some fresh ginger. The lime flavor wasn't vert prominent. Next time I'd use more lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Swoon. Am eating a slice as I type. I replaced the milk with coconut milk as suggested by a couple other reviewers. This simple to make cake is one of the most delicious things I've eaten. I baked it in a medium square tin and it only took 35 min to bake. Oh, I also added 1T of lime juice. I love this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States