Greg's Southern Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
This was my first time making biscuits like this and they turned out great. I had a very hard time shredding frozen butter and lard...it ended up in my bowl in big clumps, so I would just chill and chop next time, then integrate until it reaches the oatmeal texture needed. The layers were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
I did not have any lard and used butter and they came out just fine. I also experimented with making them into and angel biscuit to serve with strawberries and whipped cream...used butter instead of bacon grease for that (so now it is all butter) and added 1 tsp of yeast to the buttermilk/let it rise for an hour before baking. Awesome dessert biscuit! As posted along the way..the real secret is minimal handling of the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
These are fantastic! Followed the recipe exactly and they came out perfectly. Light and fluffy. I have a fan-forced oven so the only small change was cooking time, only took 12 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
This recipe is simply amazing. This is that perfect recipe I have been looking for! Light, soft, flaky biscuits the whole family loved. My only change was adding sausage drippings as these were for sausage and biscuits. Instead of using a biscuit cutter, I shaped the dough into a big rectangle and cut it into equal squares with a pizza cutter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Excellent Recipe! Definitely a recipe I can make for company!!! Thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
I have made these biscuits twice now - both times within ONE week! Originally, I am Southern-raised from NC, now living in CA, and I had been looking for some good old-fashioned Southern buttermilk biscuits to make for myself since they are basically nowhere to be found in Northern California. I stumbled across this recipe and couldn't wait to try it! I made a few substitutions - namely, instead of lard, I used 100% vegetable shortening. The first time, I made these exactly as the recipe stated. I was pleased overall with the consistency and the texture of them - just as the recipe described - but I felt it was missing something for my personal taste - namely, I thought the taste was a bit too... floury. I wanted more of a melt-in-your-mouth buttery flavor. The second time I made these, I used way more butter than shortening, in fact, I nearly doubled the amount of butter that I put into them (hey, I'm from the South - I enjoy my buttery buttermilk biscuits!) and they turned out phenomenally! In retrospect, I realized that I should have perhaps bought and used butter-flavored shortening instead of flavorless, but that's what recipes are for - trial and error. I highly recommend using mostly butter in them, however, because the flavor is so moist, decadent, and reminds you of home. I froze my butter and shortening beforehand and just used a cheese grater to grate the desired quantities into the recipe. I highly recommend doing that, as well - the biscuits come out so fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MessyCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smithfield, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
These really are fantastic biscuits. They have become a Sunday morning favorite in my house, with bacon and gravy made from the drippings. I use crisco(instead of lard) because I keep that on hand and it works great. The biscuits are always tender on the inside with a light crunch on top like Greg said. The grating is genius and keeps the handling of the dough to a minimum. Making the buttermilk, for anyone doubting whether it works, it absolutely does and does not effect the biscuits at all. Nice job Greg and thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Great recipe! It's the best one I have found yet! The biscuits come out very fluffy! Make sure to follow the 'handling dough' hints. Thanks Greg!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
AWESOME!!!!!! I have a 3 year old that is only picky about a few things, one of them being biscuits, if its not cracker barrel she doesn't want it. She couldn't get over these, she kept telling her dad "just smell them dadn" while enjoying every morsel. They remind me of my mawmaw. Straight up comfort food, thanks so much for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Grating frozen fat is such a great idea! Unfortunately I live in a country where I have never seen lard or even shortening. So I had to use more butter in place. It was still good, much better than my normal biscuit recipe. But I just wanted to let people know that it probably still much better with the lard, I just didn't have a choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveNCyprus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Malaga, Andalucia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

7-Up Biscuits

See how to turn four basic ingredients into light, fluffy biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States