Greg's Southern Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by GregWmson
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Disclaimer, This is my recipe. I just wanted to pass on some tips. First off. Stick to the recipe, please don't alter it, then rate it, as its no longer mine. Do not over work the dough, flatten out gently, dust lightly with flour, (will be sticky) pat gently and then fold again, repeat, you should only do it 4-5 times max, any more and your dough will comes out flat, dense, and chewy. If they don't turn out like that, you more than likely overworked the dough, or need fresh baking powder/soda These rise about an inch on avg. Remember the key is, handle the dough as lightly and as little as possible. A Tip: To make buttermilk just add a 1 tbs of white vinegar to a cup of milk. Let sit for 5 minutes, and you now have buttermilk. To keep the lard/butter from clumping, grate directly over the flour moving it around as you grate and give a little stir if you see it clumping. BTW Grandma always sifted her flour, I did not, I've eaten a lot of country food. This is the best biscuits I've ever had. If yours don't turn out delicious, please try again, as something went wrong. It's worth it. Btw- These biscuits should be soft in the middle and have a very light crunch on the top. Grandma's words about biscuits, it largely comes down to feel and texture of the biscuit when it is kneaded perfectly with the right moisture to flour ratio and that comes only with a little practice. Enjoy! WARNING: this is NOT health food, Please judge solely on taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
432 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GregWmson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Because I don't have lard, I used vegetable shortening (Crisco). I saw the submitter's suggestion to add two teaspoons of baking powder which is good because if I hadn't seen that, I don't think they'd have turned out as well. The bacon drippings was genius--it added just a hint of bacon flavor that really made these biscuits good! We all loved these and there are no leftovers. Next time, I might omit the lard and just use bacon drippings. That was a money idea. Thanks, Greg!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
I have made these biscuits twice now - both times within ONE week! Originally, I am Southern-raised from NC, now living in CA, and I had been looking for some good old-fashioned Southern buttermilk biscuits to make for myself since they are basically nowhere to be found in Northern California. I stumbled across this recipe and couldn't wait to try it! I made a few substitutions - namely, instead of lard, I used 100% vegetable shortening. The first time, I made these exactly as the recipe stated. I was pleased overall with the consistency and the texture of them - just as the recipe described - but I felt it was missing something for my personal taste - namely, I thought the taste was a bit too... floury. I wanted more of a melt-in-your-mouth buttery flavor. The second time I made these, I used way more butter than shortening, in fact, I nearly doubled the amount of butter that I put into them (hey, I'm from the South - I enjoy my buttery buttermilk biscuits!) and they turned out phenomenally! In retrospect, I realized that I should have perhaps bought and used butter-flavored shortening instead of flavorless, but that's what recipes are for - trial and error. I highly recommend using mostly butter in them, however, because the flavor is so moist, decadent, and reminds you of home. I froze my butter and shortening beforehand and just used a cheese grater to grate the desired quantities into the recipe. I highly recommend doing that, as well - the biscuits come out so fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MessyCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smithfield, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I've been trying to make homemade southern buttermilk biscuits for years and they never turn out well, no matter what recipe I try. These turned out perfect and my husband is devouring them and moaning with happiness as I write this! Thank you, thank you for this wonderful recipe and the tips on making great biscuits. This is life changing in our home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Athena E

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Just made these tonight, all I can say is, they turned out PERFECT. Thank you for the recipe, I changed NOTHING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SilkSmoke

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Really good southern buttermilk biscuits. They aren't quite my grandmothers (what I am searching for) but the closest thus far. I'm certain with a few changes I will finally be able to replicate Maw's! Thanks Greg!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Vicksburg, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I loved these biscuits. Mine usually come out "ok-ish", nothing special. These, however, made me feel like i've finally found THE recipe! They are so light inside but with a ever so light cruntch on the top. Thanks for this great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Really, really delicious! I didn't have lard and ended up using vegetable shortening - I have a feeling they would have been even better with the lard, but they were great with the shortening, too. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Easy and awesome. Closest biscuits to Hardee's homemade that I've had. Don't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
We loved these! The only change I made was to use butter-flavored shortening in place of lard since that's what I had on hand. Everything else I followed exactly as written. Excellent recipe! The first time I've made buttermilk biscuits from scratch and this recipe is wonderful. I am sure they are even better using lard! Thanks, I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blestmom4

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

7-Up Biscuits

See how to turn four basic ingredients into light, fluffy biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States