Greg's Southern Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Easy and awesome. Closest biscuits to Hardee's homemade that I've had. Don't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GregWmson
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Disclaimer, This is my recipe. I just wanted to pass on some tips. First off. Stick to the recipe, please don't alter it, then rate it, as its no longer mine. Do not over work the dough, flatten out gently, dust lightly with flour, (will be sticky) pat gently and then fold again, repeat, you should only do it 4-5 times max, any more and your dough will comes out flat, dense, and chewy. If they don't turn out like that, you more than likely overworked the dough, or need fresh baking powder/soda These rise about an inch on avg. Remember the key is, handle the dough as lightly and as little as possible. A Tip: To make buttermilk just add a 1 tbs of white vinegar to a cup of milk. Let sit for 5 minutes, and you now have buttermilk. To keep the lard/butter from clumping, grate directly over the flour moving it around as you grate and give a little stir if you see it clumping. BTW Grandma always sifted her flour, I did not, I've eaten a lot of country food. This is the best biscuits I've ever had. If yours don't turn out delicious, please try again, as something went wrong. It's worth it. Btw- These biscuits should be soft in the middle and have a very light crunch on the top. Grandma's words about biscuits, it largely comes down to feel and texture of the biscuit when it is kneaded perfectly with the right moisture to flour ratio and that comes only with a little practice. Enjoy! WARNING: this is NOT health food, Please judge solely on taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
442 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GregWmson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Just made these tonight, all I can say is, they turned out PERFECT. Thank you for the recipe, I changed NOTHING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SilkSmoke

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I loved these biscuits. Mine usually come out "ok-ish", nothing special. These, however, made me feel like i've finally found THE recipe! They are so light inside but with a ever so light cruntch on the top. Thanks for this great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Really, really delicious! I didn't have lard and ended up using vegetable shortening - I have a feeling they would have been even better with the lard, but they were great with the shortening, too. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Really good southern buttermilk biscuits. They aren't quite my grandmothers (what I am searching for) but the closest thus far. I'm certain with a few changes I will finally be able to replicate Maw's! Thanks Greg!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Vicksburg, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I've been trying to make homemade southern buttermilk biscuits for years and they never turn out well, no matter what recipe I try. These turned out perfect and my husband is devouring them and moaning with happiness as I write this! Thank you, thank you for this wonderful recipe and the tips on making great biscuits. This is life changing in our home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Athena E

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
We loved these! The only change I made was to use butter-flavored shortening in place of lard since that's what I had on hand. Everything else I followed exactly as written. Excellent recipe! The first time I've made buttermilk biscuits from scratch and this recipe is wonderful. I am sure they are even better using lard! Thanks, I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyson Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
These were yummy. I was a bit taken back when I decided to use this recipe only for the fact of actually buying a tub of lard vs shortening. But I did purchase the lard, followed the recipe to a T. And to my delight or at least to my family's delight, they enjoyed these biscuits very much. They thought I went to the local Chicken and biscuit fast food chain and purchased them, but when I told them...they weren't open at the hour I decided to make them. I'll make this again. I couldn't find my biscuit cutter so I used a drinking glass and it did the same thing. And brushed the tops with butter when they were almost ready to come out of the oven. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
I made them with kefir instead of buttermilk, and sausage drippings instead of bacon drippings. I then served them with the gravy from the Drop Biscuits and Gravy recipe. My kids loved them. Not health food, but delicious winter fare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

7-Up Biscuits

See how to turn four basic ingredients into light, fluffy biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States