Greg's Southern Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
add a tsp of lemon juice & ya got me,,, yum yum,,,,,,,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rea

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Thanks for sharing! I skip the lard and use cold bacon grease instead. These biscuits always turn out delicious and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
I made them with kefir instead of buttermilk, and sausage drippings instead of bacon drippings. I then served them with the gravy from the Drop Biscuits and Gravy recipe. My kids loved them. Not health food, but delicious winter fare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
These were yummy. I was a bit taken back when I decided to use this recipe only for the fact of actually buying a tub of lard vs shortening. But I did purchase the lard, followed the recipe to a T. And to my delight or at least to my family's delight, they enjoyed these biscuits very much. They thought I went to the local Chicken and biscuit fast food chain and purchased them, but when I told them...they weren't open at the hour I decided to make them. I'll make this again. I couldn't find my biscuit cutter so I used a drinking glass and it did the same thing. And brushed the tops with butter when they were almost ready to come out of the oven. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
We loved these! The only change I made was to use butter-flavored shortening in place of lard since that's what I had on hand. Everything else I followed exactly as written. Excellent recipe! The first time I've made buttermilk biscuits from scratch and this recipe is wonderful. I am sure they are even better using lard! Thanks, I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blestmom4

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I've been trying to make homemade southern buttermilk biscuits for years and they never turn out well, no matter what recipe I try. These turned out perfect and my husband is devouring them and moaning with happiness as I write this! Thank you, thank you for this wonderful recipe and the tips on making great biscuits. This is life changing in our home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Athena E

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Really good southern buttermilk biscuits. They aren't quite my grandmothers (what I am searching for) but the closest thus far. I'm certain with a few changes I will finally be able to replicate Maw's! Thanks Greg!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Vicksburg, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Really, really delicious! I didn't have lard and ended up using vegetable shortening - I have a feeling they would have been even better with the lard, but they were great with the shortening, too. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I loved these biscuits. Mine usually come out "ok-ish", nothing special. These, however, made me feel like i've finally found THE recipe! They are so light inside but with a ever so light cruntch on the top. Thanks for this great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Just made these tonight, all I can say is, they turned out PERFECT. Thank you for the recipe, I changed NOTHING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SilkSmoke

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

7-Up Biscuits

See how to turn four basic ingredients into light, fluffy biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States