Greg's Southern Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Excellent Recipe! Definitely a recipe I can make for company!!! Thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
This recipe is simply amazing. This is that perfect recipe I have been looking for! Light, soft, flaky biscuits the whole family loved. My only change was adding sausage drippings as these were for sausage and biscuits. Instead of using a biscuit cutter, I shaped the dough into a big rectangle and cut it into equal squares with a pizza cutter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
These are fantastic! Followed the recipe exactly and they came out perfectly. Light and fluffy. I have a fan-forced oven so the only small change was cooking time, only took 12 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
I did not have any lard and used butter and they came out just fine. I also experimented with making them into and angel biscuit to serve with strawberries and whipped cream...used butter instead of bacon grease for that (so now it is all butter) and added 1 tsp of yeast to the buttermilk/let it rise for an hour before baking. Awesome dessert biscuit! As posted along the way..the real secret is minimal handling of the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
This was my first time making biscuits like this and they turned out great. I had a very hard time shredding frozen butter and lard...it ended up in my bowl in big clumps, so I would just chill and chop next time, then integrate until it reaches the oatmeal texture needed. The layers were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
these were ok for me im sorry grandmas angel biscuits just cant be beat now if i could just find the recipe for them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This was about my 5th attempt at making buttermilk biscuits. I've tried lots of recipes, but finally found THE ONE! These were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Because I don't have lard, I used vegetable shortening (Crisco). I saw the submitter's suggestion to add two teaspoons of baking powder which is good because if I hadn't seen that, I don't think they'd have turned out as well. The bacon drippings was genius--it added just a hint of bacon flavor that really made these biscuits good! We all loved these and there are no leftovers. Next time, I might omit the lard and just use bacon drippings. That was a money idea. Thanks, Greg!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
add a tsp of lemon juice & ya got me,,, yum yum,,,,,,,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rea

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Thanks for sharing! I skip the lard and use cold bacon grease instead. These biscuits always turn out delicious and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

7-Up Biscuits

See how to turn four basic ingredients into light, fluffy biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States