Greg's Southern Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
I made these for the first time last night. I was looking for a biscuit recipe to make creamed chicken over biscuits. Followed the recipe as written - bought the lard and made the buttermilk with vinegar as suggested. I had to use a glass to cut them out, and I tended to turn the glass as I cut the biscuits (old cookie cutter habit). And apparently I can't judge what an inch is either. My husband looked at them and said, "that's more like a half inch dear!" Too late to rework the dough to fix that.... They still turned out fantastic. When our 17yr old got home and tried them he said they tasted like KFC biscuits. Grating the lard and butter was ingenious. Greg, thanks for the recipe. You should make a video and put it up on YouTube to demonstrate how easy it is to make these. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Painter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Absolutely the best biscuit I have ever made!!! Family loved them, thanks so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grant Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Beecher, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
This was my first attempt at buttermilk biscuits and these turned out pretty great. I think I either worked the dough too much or not enough as they didn't turn out as flaky as I would like but that was definitely due to me not the recipe. The only change I made was to use butter in place of the lard and bacon drippings. I will be trying these again very soon, thanks for a great recipe! Edit - Made again 11/17 with 1/2 cup whole wheat flour and 1 1/2 cups white flour, did not have as much luck, maybe it needed more baking soda or powder, not sure. Still were good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
These are the best biscuits I have ever made. They are worth the time and effort to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
the first time i made these, they came out lumpy, flat, and hard. but, they still tasted DELICIOUS. fair warning to those who try this, they probably wont come out perfect the first time. thanks tho!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Grating frozen fat is such a great idea! Unfortunately I live in a country where I have never seen lard or even shortening. So I had to use more butter in place. It was still good, much better than my normal biscuit recipe. But I just wanted to let people know that it probably still much better with the lard, I just didn't have a choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveNCyprus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Malaga, Andalucia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
AWESOME!!!!!! I have a 3 year old that is only picky about a few things, one of them being biscuits, if its not cracker barrel she doesn't want it. She couldn't get over these, she kept telling her dad "just smell them dadn" while enjoying every morsel. They remind me of my mawmaw. Straight up comfort food, thanks so much for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Great recipe! It's the best one I have found yet! The biscuits come out very fluffy! Make sure to follow the 'handling dough' hints. Thanks Greg!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
These really are fantastic biscuits. They have become a Sunday morning favorite in my house, with bacon and gravy made from the drippings. I use crisco(instead of lard) because I keep that on hand and it works great. The biscuits are always tender on the inside with a light crunch on top like Greg said. The grating is genius and keeps the handling of the dough to a minimum. Making the buttermilk, for anyone doubting whether it works, it absolutely does and does not effect the biscuits at all. Nice job Greg and thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
I have made these biscuits twice now - both times within ONE week! Originally, I am Southern-raised from NC, now living in CA, and I had been looking for some good old-fashioned Southern buttermilk biscuits to make for myself since they are basically nowhere to be found in Northern California. I stumbled across this recipe and couldn't wait to try it! I made a few substitutions - namely, instead of lard, I used 100% vegetable shortening. The first time, I made these exactly as the recipe stated. I was pleased overall with the consistency and the texture of them - just as the recipe described - but I felt it was missing something for my personal taste - namely, I thought the taste was a bit too... floury. I wanted more of a melt-in-your-mouth buttery flavor. The second time I made these, I used way more butter than shortening, in fact, I nearly doubled the amount of butter that I put into them (hey, I'm from the South - I enjoy my buttery buttermilk biscuits!) and they turned out phenomenally! In retrospect, I realized that I should have perhaps bought and used butter-flavored shortening instead of flavorless, but that's what recipes are for - trial and error. I highly recommend using mostly butter in them, however, because the flavor is so moist, decadent, and reminds you of home. I froze my butter and shortening beforehand and just used a cheese grater to grate the desired quantities into the recipe. I highly recommend doing that, as well - the biscuits come out so fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MessyCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smithfield, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

7-Up Biscuits

See how to turn four basic ingredients into light, fluffy biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States