Greg's Southern Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
I was home late from grocery shopping and didn't have much time to prepare or cook before my husband had to leave for work. I made these biscuits to go with sausage gravy. I have NEVER made homemade biscuits before, and while making these, I fully expected them to be a disaster. I had no bacon drippings and no lard. I used vegetable shortening, which I had not had time to freeze before adding it to the flour mixture. I just plopped it right in there. The butter was only refrigerated, which I still grated, and I couldn't be bothered to roll the dough out and cut it out into circular portions. All I did was rip the dough up and plop it right on the baking sheet. Despite all of this, they STILL came out completely delicious! Of course, the next time I make them, I will do it all the right way, but I do have to say, this is an amazing recipe if those biscuits can still come out almost perfect despite royally screwing up the recipe. 5 stars, thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ana C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mingo Junction, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hammondsville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Mine accidentally sealed on the edges even though I was careful not to twist, but they're still super yummy! I subbed veg. shortening for lard, and butter for the bacon drippings since we don't eat meat. I skipped the frozen stuff part and just melted it all in the microwave and poured it in. I also used lemon juice and milk for buttermilk, and they STILL turned out good, despite all my attempts to destroy them! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vail, Arizona, USA
Living In: Saint Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Photo by freckles
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
My biscuits turned out perfect and I did not even add the bacon grease, they were so wonderful. If I added more butter and less lard, I think I would get a KFC biscuit and we would tear those suckers up! I don't think I will ever buy prepared packaged biscuits ever again. I will have to triple my recipe for my family next time. Thank you so much for helping me accomplish what I feel every southern lady should know how to make from scratch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by freckles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
OMG Fantastic! Unfortunately I did not have any bacon, but I am definitely going to make these again when I get some. I've been trying to find the perfect "Hardees Biscuit Recipe" for years. My daughter in law just tried one and said these are even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie J Williams

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
I made these for the first time last night. I was looking for a biscuit recipe to make creamed chicken over biscuits. Followed the recipe as written - bought the lard and made the buttermilk with vinegar as suggested. I had to use a glass to cut them out, and I tended to turn the glass as I cut the biscuits (old cookie cutter habit). And apparently I can't judge what an inch is either. My husband looked at them and said, "that's more like a half inch dear!" Too late to rework the dough to fix that.... They still turned out fantastic. When our 17yr old got home and tried them he said they tasted like KFC biscuits. Grating the lard and butter was ingenious. Greg, thanks for the recipe. You should make a video and put it up on YouTube to demonstrate how easy it is to make these. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Painter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Absolutely the best biscuit I have ever made!!! Family loved them, thanks so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grant Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Beecher, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
This was my first attempt at buttermilk biscuits and these turned out pretty great. I think I either worked the dough too much or not enough as they didn't turn out as flaky as I would like but that was definitely due to me not the recipe. The only change I made was to use butter in place of the lard and bacon drippings. I will be trying these again very soon, thanks for a great recipe! Edit - Made again 11/17 with 1/2 cup whole wheat flour and 1 1/2 cups white flour, did not have as much luck, maybe it needed more baking soda or powder, not sure. Still were good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
These are the best biscuits I have ever made. They are worth the time and effort to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
the first time i made these, they came out lumpy, flat, and hard. but, they still tasted DELICIOUS. fair warning to those who try this, they probably wont come out perfect the first time. thanks tho!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Grating frozen fat is such a great idea! Unfortunately I live in a country where I have never seen lard or even shortening. So I had to use more butter in place. It was still good, much better than my normal biscuit recipe. But I just wanted to let people know that it probably still much better with the lard, I just didn't have a choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveNCyprus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Malaga, Andalucia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

7-Up Biscuits

See how to turn four basic ingredients into light, fluffy biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States