Greg's Southern Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I've been making this recipe for a little bit now, and they turn out perfect, every single time! My husband is from the south, and was really glad I found this recipe, they taste just like a good southern biscuit should taste! I haven't made any changes to the recipe as it is perfect as it is ! This is now a staple in our home. Thanks Greg! Enjoy guys !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amadako

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I had to do a lot of substitutions since all the ingredients weren't at hand and it still turned out great!!!! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
This one's a keeper! My husband called me this morning before coming home from work to request biscuits and gravy for breakfast. I haven't made biscuits from scratch in over 40 years. The last time I made them, they came out like rocks so I used canned biscuits from then on. Sausage gravy, I make all the time without a recipe and no problem but no biscuits in the fridge...oops. Found this recipe, cut it in half (just the 2 of us). No lard and not enough time to freeze butter or fry bacon. Used all butter cut into flour mixture. Worked the mixture quickly bringing dough just together. Continued the rest exactly as Greg's tips suggested except, 1" is about the length of my fingertip to the first joint and I rolled out the dough about 1/2". To keep the amount of working time to a minimum, I stacked them 2 high and patted them down slightly. I don't think I needed to do that because what I ended up with was 4 beautifully browned, very tall, deliciously tender, best tasting biscuits I've ever eaten. I have a convection oven like one of the other reviewers and 12 minutes is about right. Please, do not overwork the dough or add too much flour. If it's still slightly sticky when you scrape it out of the bowl onto your floured surface, no problem. Just follow Greg's hints and you can't go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
These were AWESOME! Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
I used 1 stick (8 tbsp) frozen butter instead of 4 tbsp frozen lard and butter, and I increased salt to 1 teaspoon instead of the 3/4 tsp the recipe called for; the biscuits tasted really good. The only thing is that, next time, I will roll out to 1" thickness, otherwise these are really flat biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrandonsMom11197

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Just made these biscuits... they are wonderful! Thank you for the recipe.. will be making these often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Kahului, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Fantastic recipe! I have to admit, my biscuit making history up to this point only included adventures with Bisquick and box recipes, and they were never very good at all. I always thought of "from scratch" biscuits as something I probably would never be good at making. This recipe has put all of those thoughts behind me. I have made them twice since finding the recipe yesterday. My grocery doesn't carry lard, so I used all butter both times, and left out the bacon grease the first time. Both times they came out terrific, the best biscuits I think I have ever had. My family gobbled them up literally in minutes, both times, and they are already asking when we can have them again. Thank you so much for posting this, it is definitely THE only biscuit recipe I will ever need.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Really fabulous, light and flakey--soft in the middle and slightly crisp on the outside. I didn't change and thing and don't plan to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
THE best homemade biscuit recipe I have ever tried - turned out just as promised...soft, moist and fluffy on the inside with just a little crunch on the outside. Even good enough to eat without butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
I was home late from grocery shopping and didn't have much time to prepare or cook before my husband had to leave for work. I made these biscuits to go with sausage gravy. I have NEVER made homemade biscuits before, and while making these, I fully expected them to be a disaster. I had no bacon drippings and no lard. I used vegetable shortening, which I had not had time to freeze before adding it to the flour mixture. I just plopped it right in there. The butter was only refrigerated, which I still grated, and I couldn't be bothered to roll the dough out and cut it out into circular portions. All I did was rip the dough up and plop it right on the baking sheet. Despite all of this, they STILL came out completely delicious! Of course, the next time I make them, I will do it all the right way, but I do have to say, this is an amazing recipe if those biscuits can still come out almost perfect despite royally screwing up the recipe. 5 stars, thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ana C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mingo Junction, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hammondsville, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

7-Up Biscuits

See how to turn four basic ingredients into light, fluffy biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States