Greg's Southern Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
These are some seriously GREAT biscuits. I'm grew up a southern boy, and these are the real deal. Perfect with some cream gravy! Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Very good biscuits for breakfast with strawberry jam on top. Once cut, I froze mine before baking, so I can take one or two out and bake at anytime. Tip: let thaw briefly before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Great bisquits! I used a Silpat mat instead of lard on the pan and I used 4 T of butter and no lard in the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wrangell, Alaska, USA
Living In: Arlington, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
I made this glutten free without changing anything except the type of flour and added xanthum gum and they were just AMAZING - my kids scarfed them up with honey! Thanks for the great recipe. I think it was perfect as is and could be altered to make a dessert just by adding a little sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: White Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Very good biscuit recipe - will be making again whenever we need biscuits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Davidson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
I have tried these twice, the first time was flat and a little tough. The key is not to knead to much as the second time I was more careful about it and they came out perfect! Great as next day biscuits for sausage and gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Haven, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
Perfect as is - just need to remember to put the butter and shortening in the freezer (biscuits burn if you forget). Reminded my of my grandmother's recipe. Love the flavor and texture of this biscuit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
The first time that I made this recipe I had to make them for my family again later that night and then yet again the next morning. They beg for these!! I had never made biscuits from scratch before but this recipe was PERFECT. I am born and raised deep south and trust me, these are the real thing. My biscuits rise at least one inch and often much more. Great with some good white gravy or butter and jam. THANK YOU GREG! AWESOME! You have made me a kitchen hero.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamajupe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Holy Cow! Best biscuits I've had in twenty years. These really are southern style. No, its not health food, or gluten free, or made with canola oil, but man if you love authentic southern style biscuits, these are it!! I'm scratching my head at some of these reviews though, they rave about the flavor, then complain about the ingredients used. Which is downright silly and a bit unfair to the submitter since it clearly list the ingredient, the fat content, the calorie count and everything else. This is truly southern style, in the south we use lard, and lots of butter and salt. If you want healthy biscuits, I suggest people do a search for HEALTHY/GLUTEN Free Biscuits. Grandma Mary would be proud of these. One thing I noticed though, make sure that butter and lard are frozen hard, else its going to stick to the grater. I'm going to go scoop up a bunch of tbs of lard and keep it in my freezer now. This is now a new Sunday Brunch tradition. I wish I could give this 10 stars, they really are that good. Thanks Greg!! I've been looking for this recipe for 20 years!! After using this site for the last 6 months in a lurking state, I felt so compelled to rate these biscuits, I had to sign up to let people know, this is the biscuit recipe your looking for and they really are easy and fool proof if you follow the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Really good! But I confess I need more practice ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

7-Up Biscuits

See how to turn four basic ingredients into light, fluffy biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States