Greg's Southern Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
I have tried these twice, the first time was flat and a little tough. The key is not to knead to much as the second time I was more careful about it and they came out perfect! Great as next day biscuits for sausage and gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Haven, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
Perfect as is - just need to remember to put the butter and shortening in the freezer (biscuits burn if you forget). Reminded my of my grandmother's recipe. Love the flavor and texture of this biscuit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
The first time that I made this recipe I had to make them for my family again later that night and then yet again the next morning. They beg for these!! I had never made biscuits from scratch before but this recipe was PERFECT. I am born and raised deep south and trust me, these are the real thing. My biscuits rise at least one inch and often much more. Great with some good white gravy or butter and jam. THANK YOU GREG! AWESOME! You have made me a kitchen hero.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamajupe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Holy Cow! Best biscuits I've had in twenty years. These really are southern style. No, its not health food, or gluten free, or made with canola oil, but man if you love authentic southern style biscuits, these are it!! I'm scratching my head at some of these reviews though, they rave about the flavor, then complain about the ingredients used. Which is downright silly and a bit unfair to the submitter since it clearly list the ingredient, the fat content, the calorie count and everything else. This is truly southern style, in the south we use lard, and lots of butter and salt. If you want healthy biscuits, I suggest people do a search for HEALTHY/GLUTEN Free Biscuits. Grandma Mary would be proud of these. One thing I noticed though, make sure that butter and lard are frozen hard, else its going to stick to the grater. I'm going to go scoop up a bunch of tbs of lard and keep it in my freezer now. This is now a new Sunday Brunch tradition. I wish I could give this 10 stars, they really are that good. Thanks Greg!! I've been looking for this recipe for 20 years!! After using this site for the last 6 months in a lurking state, I felt so compelled to rate these biscuits, I had to sign up to let people know, this is the biscuit recipe your looking for and they really are easy and fool proof if you follow the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Really good! But I confess I need more practice ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
So bad for you! So good though. I wouldn't eat these all the time but for a once in awhile treat...I miss Southern cooking. Makes me nostalgic. (: I have to take one star off because I can't eat like this anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
Delicious and light and easy! I now have a small zip-locked bag of 1-Tablespoon-sized chunks of butter and lard in my freezer so I'll be ready for our next batch!!!! We're just 2, so I cut the recipe in half - still perfect. YUM. Thanks for posting this authentic southern biscuit recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
I followed directions exactly as written, but for whatever reason the overall taste just was not there for me. Tasted very plain: next time I will use more butter (will say they were very fluffy). Not giving up on them; so look for my 4 starts to hopefully turn into 5. May just be a matter of taste too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cm28

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
I actually did the happy dance when I tried these! I have looked for a good biscuit recipe forever. The quest has ended with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kirklin, Indiana, USA
Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
I had to use only unsalted butter because I didn't hard any lard or bacon, but used the same measurements, they still came out soft in the middle and crunchy on the outside, I made them for breakfast for a friend, out took only.about 20 minutes from making the dough & baking them. I will make these again. I barely worked the dough I think that's key to making them fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

7-Up Biscuits

See how to turn four basic ingredients into light, fluffy biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States