Greg's Southern Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 29, 2013
I have not tried this recipe. I am sure it tastes great but my hubby and I are on a cholesterol restricted diet and with all the lard, butter and bacon fat in this recipe, I don't think I will be making these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
So much milk, it was biscuit soup! I had to reconfigure big-time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
These are awesome! I have been searching for a good southern biscuit recipe and this is it. Have made them several times, although I haven't bothered to freeze the butter or lard (ok I used vegetable shortening instead of lard) and it worked great. I'm sure the lard would have tasted even better but couldn't bring myself to add it. Maybe for the holiday's I will.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amanda P
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Awesome! Loved these. They were flaky and full of flavor. A nice crunch the outside as well. These were my first attempt at Buttermilk biscuits and it will be a keeper! (I didn't add the bacon drippings since I didn't have any on hand)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda P

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I've made this recipe many times now, and sorry, but I've shortened the process somewhat. I'm way to lazy to freeze lard and grate it:) I measure the dry ingredients into my mixing bowl, then add in 2 tablespoons butter flavor shortening and 2 1/2 tablespoons soft margarine instead of the fats. Cut that in, and add in the buttermilk. It's still my favorite biscuit recipe, and an easy five stars. Also, I've forced myself to cut straight down without twisting, and these rise high, have a tender crumb, and stay moist if there are leftovers. That's not often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Taste wise, this is a great recipe ... As indicated, it produces a very sticky dough ... which can be a bit messy and difficult to work with. To cope with that, I generally jump to the chase and add 2 tablespoons of flour in the beginning ... with no apparent negative taste effects. Don't use a rolling pin or overwork the dough ... and don't overcook. It depends on the oven, but I bake these for 12-15 minutes at 450 ... a bit longer at 425.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Fiver stars because it is a tasty, tender biscuit with a light crisp to the outside despite my issues: my son hid my cheese grater, so I had to use a circular shredder thing and thawed much of all of it in the process. It came out as a lump, so I whacked it around with a whisk (cooler temp than my hands) to distribute. This was considerably more than 2 stirs. Used sausage grease instead of bacon as I used the last of the bacon grease to season my skillets & was making sausage gravy anyway. I did not handle it much once I added the liquid, but rolled it to 1/2" (having made too many pie crusts & tortillas lately) They baked up double (about the height as those little store can ones) So, five stars for an good product after many errors. That said, they could be better brushed with melted butter straight out of the oven to amplify the butter taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hancock, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
These are some seriously GREAT biscuits. I'm grew up a southern boy, and these are the real deal. Perfect with some cream gravy! Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Very good biscuits for breakfast with strawberry jam on top. Once cut, I froze mine before baking, so I can take one or two out and bake at anytime. Tip: let thaw briefly before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Great bisquits! I used a Silpat mat instead of lard on the pan and I used 4 T of butter and no lard in the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wrangell, Alaska, USA
Living In: Arlington, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

7-Up Biscuits

See how to turn four basic ingredients into light, fluffy biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States