Greens with Cannellini Beans and Pancetta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
Used fresh beans, boiled till just tender, from Hillcrest Farmer's Market during my visit to Little Rock. Vegetarian version: left out meat and for flavor added a 1/4 cup fresh basil-torn in coarse pieces, salt and pepper, about 10 coarsely chopped walnuts (lightly brown with garlic) and a few big squirts of lemon (gives the "kick"). Left out the beet greens as didn't have on hand. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
I used bacon, collard greens instead of beet greens and added red pepper flakes....so delicious! Almost better than my favorite restaurant's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
My husband liked this and he does not usually like kale. I used spinach and kale, and only had some cooked bacon, so I added that and about a tablespoon of bacon grease with more garlic. Fine for two people who are not craving meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA
Living In: Bullhead City, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
This dish was just okay. It was enjoyable, but somewhat bland. Definitely needed to add some chicken broth for the greens to wilt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
If you are partial to greens, this is a great recipe. I used collards (from my greenhouse) and the pancetta. I eat my greens with a splash of balsamic vinegar added at the table. My husband likes to add Cholulu hot sauce at the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I've been cooking greens this way for a long time (using the bacon), but I never thought of adding cannelini beans. It's a great way to add fiber and protein to an already healthy dish. We enjoyed this and will keep this in mind from now on. Thanks Diana!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Lowell, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Good flavor and easy to make. Both my husband and I enjoyed this dish. It is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
Good stuff! I added some chicken broth and a splash of white wine and let the kale simmer for about half an hour to get tender. Used a bean more like a large pinto bean (don't remember the name)and sprinkled a little red pepper flakes for some zip. Leftovers made a great lunch with some diced fresh tomato stirred in. I think it's even better left for a day or two in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl2008

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
I successfully subbed collard greens for beet greens (which my grocery did not have). I'd previously thought greens needed to be cooked for a long time to be tender, but this method worked. Two huge, tasty servings. I added a couple pinches of red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
Wow! Delicious, we cooked the pancetta in the pan rather than the microwave and used the drippings instead of the olive oil. We also used more garlic. The flavors were fabulous together. We will definitely be making this again and again. We used it as a side, but after tasting it, with crusty bread, we see how this could be a meal in itself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Pork and Beans and Greens

See how to make an Italian variation on beans and greens.

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Utica Greens and Beans

Tasty beans and greens with escarole, pancetta, and a bread crumb topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States