Greens with Cannellini Beans and Pancetta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
This is a great and easy way to use up the greens from your fresh beets. I did make a couple of changes: 1. I rendered the bacon in a pan and used some of the leftiver fat to cook the onions in. 2. At the end, I added a splash of balsamic vinegar, which really seemed to brighten up all the flavors. 3. I served with a sprinkling of freshly grated parm over each bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
Wonderful success with my older parents. I am the designated greens cooker (usually collards) for family dinners. I thought I would try this "greens and beans" recipe as a change. It was a major success. They not only wanted the recipe but took home the little that was left in "people bags". Easy and delicious. And "greens and beans" was a catchy name they liked too. I briefly cooked the onions in the olive oil. A dash of your favorite hot pepper vinegar will brighten up the greens but I elected to just put the bottle on the table and let each adjust for their taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by menasheep
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
Awesome! My husband INHALED this! He said it reminded him of his grandma's cooking (she's very southern and used to make him collard greens, white beans and ham). I couldn't find beet greens, so I used 2 bunches of kale. I also used 5 slices of pancetta since I can only find the paper-thin stuff. I also added some fresh ground pepper. Excellent for a light and healthy dinner. Thanks very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by menasheep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evening Shade, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
Best greens recipe I've made so far. Kids loved it. It is so easy! I will make this regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I made this recipe exactly as posted and then tasted it. It was too dry for my liking, so I ended up adding one cup of low sodium chicken broth and cooking it about 5 minutes longer. I would make it again, with the broth, and I might even add an additional five minutes, because I like my greens quite tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
I agree with the last entry--too dry and greens didn't wilt enough. Definitely would add chicken broth to make it better, as it is pretty bland. I also used pancetta and i think next time I'd use bacon for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
This was great - I am always looking for something to add greens to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
I think the recipe needs to add liquid or chicken broth to the steaming process. It definitely adds flavor. I had never tried kale (used kale only)before and I do think it is a bit bitter. My husband also made a red wine reduction to go on top of the greens. That helped with the flavor. Will make again and pass on to others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bkharder73

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Very savory... delicious mix of flavors I hadn't considered before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
Needs a little moisture added to the pan to help the greens wilt. I usually add the kale fairly wet after I have just rinsed it off. That seems to help. I like to do this with kale only, no beet greens. I usually don't have the pancetta so I cheat and use the ready cooked bacon bits that come in a little pouch. And they are less fat. I like to finish this off with either a dash of chipotle chili powder or smoked paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Pork and Beans and Greens

See how to make an Italian variation on beans and greens.

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Utica Greens and Beans

Tasty beans and greens with escarole, pancetta, and a bread crumb topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States