Greens with Cannellini Beans and Pancetta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
I've made this with kale and collards. For collards, I took others' advice and added a little liquid to steam the collards until they were tender. I also used chopotle pepper and hot sauce to spice it up a little. I've substituted smoked sausage for bacon. I chopped the sausage into bite sized pieces and cooked it in the olive oil with the onion. Less smoky flavor with the sausage, but good still.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
I thought this was great. It was so easy too. I just sprinkled real bacon bits over the top at the step since I didn't have pancetta. I also used 2 cans of large butter beans because that was what I had. I use 2 because I thought it made it more of a meal. And I added 1/4 cup of chicken broth to tie it all together, and because I like my greens a bit softer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
delish - ate this as a main course and it was very filling (plus so nutritious). My only thing was that the kale was still a bit "raw" tasting. I probably should have just let it cook longer, but otherwise it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rlburns1222

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Good greens recipe. I used 1/2 beet greens from my garden, and 1/2 fresh spinach from my garden. Very yummy and easy way to use up those greens! Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Simla, Colorado, USA
Living In: Ulysses, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
I've been eating greens prepared this way (without the wine) all my life and make it often myself - this is the standard way of cooking vegetables in Italian households. My favorite is with Swiss Chard - you must cook it quite awhile so it becomes tender and mild. Beet greens are a close second! Ceci beans (garbanzo beans) may be used instead of cannellini beans and it's just as good without beans too. I love this stuff so much I could make a meal of it on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
Used Garden Spinach, 1/2 Of A Small Onion, 1 Clove Of Garlic, And A Couple Dashes Of Crushed Red Pepper. Needed More Olive Oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lina Hershberger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
YUM! I only had greens from 1/2 doz beets out of the garden and used just that. also only a white onion i had on hand. i like bacon so next time will add 1 or 2 slices more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Nice dish! I added some chopped tomatoes and it worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Great recipe! I've been looking for ways to include more greens in my family's diet and this recipe was so easy it's a keeper! I added a touch of bacon grease which may have contributed to its yumminess, but didn't kill the healty-ness, I hope!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Loved this!!! I was looking for a way to incorporate kale into our meals as a side dish and this was perfect!!! So delicious! 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Pork and Beans and Greens

See how to make an Italian variation on beans and greens.

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Utica Greens and Beans

Tasty beans and greens with escarole, pancetta, and a bread crumb topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States