Green Turkey and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
I used this recipe as starting place. I first tried it almost as written. I felt the raw spinach should have been precooked and drained before adding to the dish, as I found it was not done while the cheese was rubbery and overcooked. I also added a layer of leftover dressing on the bottom. That did soak up the liguid from the spinach. Even w/ the faults listed, my family liked the dish. I decided to do it again, this time, doing a layer of dressing, smashed spuds,precooked spinach, chopped turkey and salt, pepper and garlic powder. I baked it for 20 minutes and then added the cheese and cooked until it melted. It was very, very good! I will keep messing w/ it but it's a good start!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYLNLYTTON

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
This recipe looked too bland to be good, but the idea was interesting. I had leftover turkey and fresh spinach on hand, so, after reading other reviews, I created what we thought was a great dish. I first sauteed some onion and garlic, then wilted the spinach over it to cook it a bit. I also threw in some mushrooms that I had on hand. Added salt & pepper to taste, and some fresh nutmeg gratings since I think nutmeg always goes with spinach. I precooked some white rice (normally would have used brown, but didn't have enough time. I then mixed the rice with the spinach mixture(drain it if necessary), and mixed in the turkey. I covered the dish and cooked for 25 min, then added the cheese, and cooked it another 10-15 min uncovered, to melt the cheese. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grosse Pointe Park, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
delicious! may i suggest adding some noodles, and taking out the spinach? and then, instead of cheese, you could use spaghetti sauce, and instead of turkey, you could use ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
Did as another reviewer suggested, adding a layer of dressing in the bottom of the casserole. Delicious! What a great way to use up leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
I also added a layer of stuffing/dressing, but the whole dish ending up very dry. The flavor was okay and the potential is there, but will probably not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEINGRAMS4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
This was really tasty. My only complaint is that the cheese was overcooked. I think when I make it again I won't add the cheese until the last minute. In that case, I will cover the dish with foil before baking otherwise the turkey will dry out. I will try this one again perhaps with chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I decided to add just a few things to "spice" this recipe up a bit. I made a base of mashed potatoes first for the bottom layer. I then took some thawed frozen spinach and added some minced, dried onion and some garlic powder to the spinach. I put the spinach over the mashed potatoes. I layered the turkey on top. I topped the whole thing with a can of cheddar cheese soup (not diluted) spread to cover, and then the shredded cheddar cheese. The cheddar cheese soup cooked down through the turkey and into the spinach. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenLove198

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
Can't beat this for a simple way to use leftover turkey. I also had some leftover rice that I put in as the bottom layer and I defrosted a 10oz box of frozen spinach for the next layer. It worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sharose
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
The picture above is what was left over after my husband and I revamped this recipe. We tossed the chopped spinach in olive oil, salt, pepper, garlic powder, and grated nutmeg. We put half the spinach in the baking dish, topped it with 1.5-2 cups chicken and half the cheese; we then added the rest of the spinach and covered it with foil. We baked it in our convection oven at 325 degrees for 20 minutes, took off foil, added rest of the cheese, 1/2 cup chicken stock, and baked it for 5 more minutes just until the cheese melted. We served it with couscous and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
This ended up pretty plain. As some reveiewers suggested I sauted onions and garlic with the spinach before I put it in the pan. I added salt and pepper and added a little broccoli. I think the idea of this recipe is good, it just needs more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Turkey Tetrazzini

Learn how to make delicious, creamy tetrazzini with leftover turkey meat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States