Green Turkey and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sharose
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
The picture above is what was left over after my husband and I revamped this recipe. We tossed the chopped spinach in olive oil, salt, pepper, garlic powder, and grated nutmeg. We put half the spinach in the baking dish, topped it with 1.5-2 cups chicken and half the cheese; we then added the rest of the spinach and covered it with foil. We baked it in our convection oven at 325 degrees for 20 minutes, took off foil, added rest of the cheese, 1/2 cup chicken stock, and baked it for 5 more minutes just until the cheese melted. We served it with couscous and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
This ended up pretty plain. As some reveiewers suggested I sauted onions and garlic with the spinach before I put it in the pan. I added salt and pepper and added a little broccoli. I think the idea of this recipe is good, it just needs more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
This didn't taste any different than Thanksgiving dinner - the ingredients still tasted separate. I did add a layer of stuffing and mashed potatoes thinking the children would eat anything with potatoes and cheese, but that plan didn't work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I decided to add just a few things to "spice" this recipe up a bit. I made a base of mashed potatoes first for the bottom layer. I then took some thawed frozen spinach and added some minced, dried onion and some garlic powder to the spinach. I put the spinach over the mashed potatoes. I layered the turkey on top. I topped the whole thing with a can of cheddar cheese soup (not diluted) spread to cover, and then the shredded cheddar cheese. The cheddar cheese soup cooked down through the turkey and into the spinach. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenLove198

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
yuck - even with adding some minced onion,nutmeg and sourcream. Rice might have made it better - but doubt it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eureka, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
This recipe looked too bland to be good, but the idea was interesting. I had leftover turkey and fresh spinach on hand, so, after reading other reviews, I created what we thought was a great dish. I first sauteed some onion and garlic, then wilted the spinach over it to cook it a bit. I also threw in some mushrooms that I had on hand. Added salt & pepper to taste, and some fresh nutmeg gratings since I think nutmeg always goes with spinach. I precooked some white rice (normally would have used brown, but didn't have enough time. I then mixed the rice with the spinach mixture(drain it if necessary), and mixed in the turkey. I covered the dish and cooked for 25 min, then added the cheese, and cooked it another 10-15 min uncovered, to melt the cheese. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grosse Pointe Park, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
Can't beat this for a simple way to use leftover turkey. I also had some leftover rice that I put in as the bottom layer and I defrosted a 10oz box of frozen spinach for the next layer. It worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
This was really tasty. My only complaint is that the cheese was overcooked. I think when I make it again I won't add the cheese until the last minute. In that case, I will cover the dish with foil before baking otherwise the turkey will dry out. I will try this one again perhaps with chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
delicious! may i suggest adding some noodles, and taking out the spinach? and then, instead of cheese, you could use spaghetti sauce, and instead of turkey, you could use ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
I also added a layer of stuffing/dressing, but the whole dish ending up very dry. The flavor was okay and the potential is there, but will probably not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEINGRAMS4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States