Green Tomato Relish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Though I reduced the sugar, I loved the recipe and was so happy to use up all of the green tomatoes just as the frost hit. Thank you for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
This was my first time canning by myself. I had a bushel of green tomatoes and found this recipe. I read ALL of the reviews for help, and decided to cut the sugar to 3 cups. I am glad I did! It was super sweet with the 3 cups. I had two pots of it on the stove, and added fresh jalepenos to one of them. That gave it a sweet and spicy taste, and i prefered that. i don't like sweet relish or sweet pickles, so cutting the sugar for me was needed. Overall, my onions were super strong, and next time i would probably cut them down, and make sure the green tomato's stood out more. It is a good relish, and unique flavor that you cannot get at any store!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Casper, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
surprizingly tasty! won't buy relish again! Didn't have enough sugar so I used brown sugar instead. I'll make it from now on with brown sugar, it's wonderful with the apple cidar vinegar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Tasty way to use some of those green tomatoes left on the vine. Will make it again next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAT79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
This recipe is FABULOUS. Reminds me of the relish my grandmother used to make. I chop everything in the food processor and it makes it so easy! This year I had such a bumper crop of tomatoes that mid-season I pulled off enough green tomatoes for a 1/2 batch to give myself a "red tomato" break! My kids love to get this in their "Christmas Goodie Basket"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Tasted good! Not canning anymore so I simmered for the time suggested and used my Foodsaver and put in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This is close enough to my recipe that I feel I can review it. This stuff is so superior to store-bought relish! I can't eat a hot dog, hamburger, or ham sandwich at home without it. For a wonderful treat and a quick appetizer, mix this relish with shredded extra sharp cheddar, mash together, and add low-fat mayonnaise to a spreading consistency. Serve with crackers. Fast, different, and fabulous. Also great in ham salad. Grind the ham, add relish and mayo to taste. Best ever!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
This is the best relish! We get this from a relative as a Christmas present every year and we go through it so quickly, we can't wait for the next year to get another jar. I have a large amount of end of season green tomatoes and I decided to look up the recipe to see if I could duplicate it, and this was a match. We joked that this is so good we would eat it on ice cream! I made half a recipe and didn't change a thing. I found another reviewers suggestiong of adding water to the blender to help chop the tomatoes very helpful as I don't have a food processor. I would add one cut up tomato (or pepper or onion) and just enough water to cover. Pulse a few times until chopped to the consistency you want, then drain through a fine mesh strainer. Then into the cheesecloth. Thank you for the tips and for a wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
I used this recipe last year to use up our green tomatoes that did not ripen. And today I am going to use it again. So happy I found this recipe. I use it as I would use any pickle relish I buy in the store. It makes great thousand island dressing. I gave some of the canned jars away to friends this summmer and it will make a great gift for someone special this Christmas. Thank you for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darlene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Martelle, Iowa, USA
Living In: Columbia Heights, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Oh my! simply heaven on earth! I live in the Adirondacks NY, and to say that we have an early frost is no exaggeration! Now I will ALWAYS have a yummy reason not to mourn an early end to another growing season! Thanks for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Fresh Cherry Tomato Relish

A fresh cherry tomato relish with garlic and a reduced vinaigrette.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States