Green Tomato Relish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Wonderful relish. I ended up using less sugar as 5 cups would have been too much for our family. Lots of raves from those I gave this to. Also used kumbucha vinegar instead of cider vinegar. Worked great. Will definately make again if I end up with green tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
This recipe rocks. This was my first time doing any sort of canning. I had a boat load of green tomatoes at the end of this year and decided to look online to see what I could do with them and found this recipe. Tried it and anyone and everyone who had tried it loves it. Will definitely do this again next year. Why didn't anyone tell me canning was so much fun!!!! Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I never would have guessed that this recipe would be sooooo good! What a great use for green tomatoes! I was uncertain whether the tomatoes should be peeled and cored, but since it didn't specify in the recipe, I just chopped them up whole. It came out fine! (I HATE the whole peeling and coring ordeal) I left sugar as is and added a couple of peppers for some zip. It is all you really need on a hot dog, the mustard, tomato, celery seed, relish, and onion are all there in one package! Great for making thousand island or tartar sauce. I never added relish to my chicken or tuna salad, but I do now! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
great recipe, thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
This relish is delicious! I picked the last of the green tomatoes for the season and over half went into this recipe. Doing it again next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Just like my favorite aunt use to make. Great way to use up all the green tomato's left in the garden for a year-round treat. Thanks for sharing this delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MADFORGOLD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tonawanda, New York, USA
Living In: Grand Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Wonderful on hotdogs! I chopped everything by hand so it would be more chunky and I really am gald I made a whole batch b/c I don't think I can go back to store bought relish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ginnybaby19

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Steubenville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Though I reduced the sugar, I loved the recipe and was so happy to use up all of the green tomatoes just as the frost hit. Thank you for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
This was my first time canning by myself. I had a bushel of green tomatoes and found this recipe. I read ALL of the reviews for help, and decided to cut the sugar to 3 cups. I am glad I did! It was super sweet with the 3 cups. I had two pots of it on the stove, and added fresh jalepenos to one of them. That gave it a sweet and spicy taste, and i prefered that. i don't like sweet relish or sweet pickles, so cutting the sugar for me was needed. Overall, my onions were super strong, and next time i would probably cut them down, and make sure the green tomato's stood out more. It is a good relish, and unique flavor that you cannot get at any store!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Casper, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
surprizingly tasty! won't buy relish again! Didn't have enough sugar so I used brown sugar instead. I'll make it from now on with brown sugar, it's wonderful with the apple cidar vinegar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Fresh Cherry Tomato Relish

A fresh cherry tomato relish with garlic and a reduced vinaigrette.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States